Quantcast

Thrust Aero Goblin Clone

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

OKTurbo

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Feb 20, 2009
Messages
1,567
Reaction score
425
I just finished putting the decals on my Goblin Clone from ThrustAero. (Nice kit John!)

I never realized what a small rocket the Goblin was. Never seeing one in person, I always imagined it to be close to the size of a der Red Max. Nope...smaller...and with a D engine...NUTS!

It still needs a good coat of "Future" then it will really shine.

Here's a couple of pics. I'm still trying to get a handle on this new digital camera. It has way too many settings.

Enjoy....



 

flying_silverad

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2002
Messages
3,168
Reaction score
1
I really like the shade of yellow. Is it Krylon? Mine seems a little more orange...I really like yours better.....:D

Real nice job.


P.S. Your about 2 kits away:cool:
 

OKTurbo

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Feb 20, 2009
Messages
1,567
Reaction score
425
Yep....just good ole Krylon. I used about 2 coats of Rustoleum Gray automotive primer. This may be why it looks a little different. It's not as 'yellow' as when I've painted it over a white primer. It almost has a neon effect....sometimes things just work out...not usually....but sometimes.

So I'm moving up the "list". Make it a good one :D

Thanks for the compliments,
John
 

sandman

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
10,565
Reaction score
5
Nice!

That looks like "Sunflower Yellow".

Same as mine

sandman
 

Micromeister

Micro Craftman/ClusterNut
TRF Lifetime Supporter
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
15,074
Reaction score
41
Location
Washington DC
Very nice!
Reminds me of mine original goblin.. and the only D13 Cato I personally ever suffered. blew my poor goblin to pieces..
After that I've alway painted them orange & black...just a better "halloween" color scheme:D
 

Rob Fisher

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2004
Messages
1,803
Reaction score
1
are you telling me this goblin clone is a kit you can already buy together? please let me know where 2 get 1
 

mkmilion

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
414
Reaction score
2
Rob,
If you mean buy together as in, already built I'm afraid that's next to improbable.
If you're refering to a kit to purchase with all the parts included, plus instructions. Checkout Thustline Aerospace
website: www.thrustaero.com
Ebay store site: http://stores.ebay.com/thustlineaerospace

I personally don't own one, but I'm sure you can get a review for it on here or EMRR. I might add I have purchased an item form them and the service was good.
 

Fore Check

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2010
Messages
4,263
Reaction score
7
You can access Thrustline's web store (powered by eBay) here:

http://stores.ebay.com/id=29124660&ssPageName=L2

Just scroll through and you should find one. If there are no Goblin kits listed with a "Buy it Now" option, just send flying_silverado a pm or email and he'll sell you one.

He puts together a nice kit. The balsa nose cone looks like he gets it through BMS (I say this having ordered a few of those from BMS and having built this kit.) The BMS cone just comes a little "rough" so take a little extra time sanding and filling it and you'll get an outstanding finish. If you don't take the time to sand it a tad, it will look a little rough. That's just the nature of that BMS cone, I'm afraid......
 

sandman

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
10,565
Reaction score
5
Hey, flying_silverado!

John,

It sounds like it's time to UP your advertising budget!

Ya got potential customers out there!:D

Check out is complete line!

sandman
 

n3tjm

Papa Elf
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
7,397
Reaction score
245
Location
Penns Creek, PA
I have seen Goblins in all shapes and sizes. I think somebody needs to clone the NCR Goblin... but you'd need a 8" diameter tube for that ;)
 

Micromeister

Micro Craftman/ClusterNut
TRF Lifetime Supporter
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
15,074
Reaction score
41
Location
Washington DC
Na! a BT-101 3.9" is big enough for me... 5 D12's.......I just love them lift-offs:D
 

jetra2

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2009
Messages
2,795
Reaction score
2
Originally posted by n3tjm
...but you'd need a 8" diameter tube for that ;)
Come on Doug! THINK! (points at head like Dr. Evil)

We've got that handled already!

LOOK!

:D :D :D

Jason
 
Top