T3 Issues :/

Discussion in 'Rocketry Electronics and Software' started by DAllen, Oct 8, 2019.

Help Support The Rocketry Forum by donating:

  1. Oct 8, 2019 #1

    DAllen

    DAllen

    DAllen

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,309
    Likes Received:
    293
    So my issues are 3-fold:

    - Contacted Missleworks - or tried to and haven't got a response which leads me too...
    - My transmitter will not power on. It did have a rough landing but I don't know if that's causing issues or not. The little light won't come on when I plug it in - so does that mean it's ka-put?
    - The receiver lights both blink. All the time. I thought one of them stops blinking when the blue-tooth connection is made but that's not happening. The lap top says the BT connection with the HC-60 (or whatever it's called) is made but the lights on the board keep blinking.

    -Dave
     
  2. Oct 8, 2019 #2

    Nytrunner

    Nytrunner

    Nytrunner

    Master of Rivets

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5,161
    Likes Received:
    1,084
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Huntsville AL
    For what it's worth, I had a receiver BT chip issue (TARC team collateral damage), contacted Mworks, sent it in, and got it back good as new. With a little more time, they should be in touch and asking about the problem.

    I think the BT light on the receiver goes solid when paired and active (at least when I've got it talking to RocketLocater). Haven't used it with a laptop, so no personal anecdata there.

    Good luck!
     
  3. Oct 8, 2019 #3

    Buckeye

    Buckeye

    Buckeye

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,140
    Likes Received:
    145
    Yes, the receiver blinking light must turn solid for a proper BT connection . BT connection in Windows can be very finicky.
     
  4. Oct 8, 2019 #4

    Buckeye

    Buckeye

    Buckeye

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,140
    Likes Received:
    145
    What software are you using on the laptop to read the receiver GPS data?
     
  5. Oct 8, 2019 #5

    DAllen

    DAllen

    DAllen

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,309
    Likes Received:
    293
    That's not good. At all. My one and only android just died a slow and painful death so I was just figuring on using my lapper. Rather than spend a bunch on a new android device I'm thinking it's time for a new tracker. :(

    I tried uBlox and VisualGPS or whatever it's called thats recommended in the users manual. Neither work right because as I figure the thing isn't connecting correctly to my laptop. :(
     
  6. Oct 8, 2019 #6

    Nytrunner

    Nytrunner

    Nytrunner

    Master of Rivets

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5,161
    Likes Received:
    1,084
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Huntsville AL
    Cheap Android tablet?
     
  7. Oct 8, 2019 #7

    DAllen

    DAllen

    DAllen

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,309
    Likes Received:
    293
    Maybe. But the TX isn't working so do I want to sink more money into a system that I may or may not be able to get to work or do I start over with something less aggravating?

    hmmm...decisions decision...That Eggtimer GPS is starting to look A LOT more appealing all the time.

    Edit: I'll try getting a hold of MW again a little later
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2019
  8. Oct 8, 2019 #8

    Buckeye

    Buckeye

    Buckeye

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,140
    Likes Received:
    145
    Don't give up yet. Try a couple more things:

    I prefer u-center, but I could not get it to play nicely with Bluetooth and the T3 receiver. In fact, it would totally disable the Bluetooth com port on my laptop. So, use VisualGPS only.

    If u-center jacked up your com port, then start from scratch to remove/unpair/pair the HC-06 all over again. Try to connect with VisualGPS through a "good" Bluetooth com port. The NMEA strings should start streaming in immediately.

    All this fiddling with the receiver may be moot if your transmitter is not functioning, as you mentioned.

    The T3 is cheap and you don't have to build it yourself. The downside is the 3rd party software that you must use. They all have issues, Android and Windows. Once I figured out the software, I have been happy with the T3. Hopefully somebody will come along with better software.
     
  9. Oct 10, 2019 #9

    DAllen

    DAllen

    DAllen

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,309
    Likes Received:
    293
    Alrighty then...MW got a hold of me right away after sending the second message so I’m going to chalk up the first not being responded to being an anomaly or something went wrong between here and there. They said to send it in so I’ll post what happens.
     

Share This Page