Sugar rockets?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bryan Payne

Reaction score
So is it legal to make sugar rockets in the usa. I've read nfpa 1122 but I'm no lawyer and can't really discern as to if my PVC sugar motor is illegal or not? Anyone know?

I believe it is, but like all homemade rocket motors it can be dangerous to make them. And we don't discuss making motors on this forum.

So is it legal to make sugar rockets in the usa. I've read nfpa 1122 but I'm no lawyer and can't really discern as to if my PVC sugar motor is illegal or not? Anyone know?

The answer is yes, no, and maybe? It depends on your local authorities and the laws they have in place. For example, my local county bans "skyrockets" in parks, which I take to mean bottle rockets compared to model rockets. But your locale may have a different law? Obviously making motors is different than burning motors is different than putting said motors in rockets.

Pretty sure not illegal to make. Flying them should fall under the same laws as commercial motors of the same impulse class. Flying them at a NAR club launch would be against the rules (no EX), and at a TRA research launch, you would need to be L2 or L3 certified.

FAA law also limits what you can fly without a waiver, based on propellant weight, rocket weight, and/or motor impulse. Same rules for commercial as EX.

TRA also does not allow PVC motor cases, nor KNSU propellant iirc, KNDX, KNSB are okay just not regular sucrose (table sugar/powdered sugar).

Are the sugar comps specifically exempt from the ATF like commercial propellants and consumer grade fireworks are?