Stratologger CF

Discussion in 'Rocketry Electronics and Software' started by HJRocketTeam19, Apr 16, 2019.

Help Support The Rocketry Forum by donating:

1. Apr 16, 2019 #1

HJRocketTeam19

HJRocketTeam19

HJRocketTeam19

Hi, I am new to model rocketry and have purchased the Stratologger CF. It lists in the manual that for example you can deploy at 700 feet. But is that at 700 feet after apogee? Or is it 700 feet from the ground?

2. Apr 16, 2019 #2

timbucktoo

timbucktoo

timbucktoo

Well-Known Member Staff Member Global Mod

700’ above ground. Can be changed thru the software if you have the required USB adapter.

3. Apr 16, 2019 #3

Jim Hinton

Jim Hinton

Jim Hinton

For what it's worth, I use that altimeter with that same default programming in my PML AMRAAM 4. That programming works great in the AMRAAM.

Jim

4. Apr 16, 2019 #4

HJRocketTeam19

HJRocketTeam19

HJRocketTeam19

Thank you so much!

5. Apr 16, 2019 #5

Bat-mite

Bat-mite

Bat-mite

Rocketeer in MD

Just as a little tutorial, barometric altimeters use atmospheric pressure to calculate altitude, since air thins as it gets farther and farther from the ground. The altimeter samples the pressure and calculates the altitude as the rocket goes up. At apogee, when the rocket is arcing over, the altitude is staying consistent. That tells the altimeter that you have reached apogee and it is time to fire a drogue charge.

On the way down, when the rocket reaches the preset altitude, it knows to fire the main charge. Also, there are safeguards built in to make sure the rocket is ascending before it will fire a charge, so that you don't get an apogee charge while stored on the ground.

HJRocketTeam19 likes this.
  6. Apr 17, 2019 #6

manixFan

manixFan

manixFan