StormCaster CP

Discussion in 'Low Power Rocketry (LPR)' started by bmhiii, Jul 26, 2003.

Help Support The Rocketry Forum by donating:

  1. Jul 26, 2003 #1

    bmhiii

    bmhiii

    bmhiii

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2002
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone out there know the CP for the Estes StormCaster? I looked on EMRR but they didn't have this rocket listed.

    What I have done is convert the StormCaster to a StormCluster by putting a 3x18mm motor mount in it. This added exactly 1 oz. of weight. If I don't know the CP, could I just add an oz. of weight to the nose? It kinda makes sense to me but I thought I'd ask.

    Thanks in advance for any help!!

    bmhiii

    Oh, I've attached a pic of the business end...
     
  2. Jul 26, 2003 #2

    Stones

    Stones

    Stones

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,835
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can't answer your question on CP but, I think you'll also have to figure in the added weight of 2 more motors to that extra 1 oz. of MMT.
     
  3. Jul 26, 2003 #3

    Stymye

    Stymye

    Stymye

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    7,568
    Likes Received:
    0
    bmhiii,

    I did the same thing to the stormcaster..and I have a rocksim v.6 file attached

    the cp is 22 5/8" from the nose cone tip...(or where the fin leading edge meets the body tube)

    according to Rocksim it should get over 1,200 ' on c6-7's

    I did add some noseweight to mine..I don't rtemember how much .but I added untill the CG was a little over 1 caliber ahead of the CP..

    I havent had the chance to fly mine yet ,,have fun with it !
     
  4. Jul 26, 2003 #4

    Stymye

    Stymye

    Stymye

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    7,568
    Likes Received:
    0
    Heres a pic of mine...mabey I can fly it today ..I'll let you know the results if I get the chance
     
  5. Jul 26, 2003 #5

    LaneKG

    LaneKG

    LaneKG

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    0
    I built a 3X18 stormcluster also. I did not know the CP either. I happened to have a stock stormcaster. (They are a cheap buy at Micheals for 40% with coupon). I put in a motor in the stock version and found the cg. Then I added nose weight for the cluster version to bring the cg to the same location as the stock version. So the logic was the cp/cg relationship would be the same. And if the stock was stable the cluster should be stable. I have lauched it twice and am very pleased. Be prepared for a long walk as it really puts it up there.
     
  6. Jul 26, 2003 #6

    LaneKG

    LaneKG

    LaneKG

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    0
    bmhiii

    I can't tell from the picture of your stormcaster, but I stuffed toliet paper soaked with white glue into the spaces around the 18mm motor tubes. This was to prevent any leaks through the rear from the ejection charge.

    Thanks,

    Greg
     
  7. Jul 26, 2003 #7

    bmhiii

    bmhiii

    bmhiii

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2002
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, you know, I forgot about motor weight. You see, that's one of the beauties of this forum, somebody will always point out the obvious when you can't see it. Thanks!!

    Oh, and I did plug up all the holes with tissue/glue balls.

    I believe I will use the CP that stymye supplied. That ought to do it.

    Oh yeah, I'm anxious to fly this baby. I did my first cluster in a Big Betty (2x18mm) and just love it!! And of course I have a Deuce in the paint shop and really look forward to flying it also. So little time...

    Thanks everybody!!!

    bmhiii
     
  8. Jul 30, 2003 #8

    Zak Orion

    Zak Orion

    Zak Orion

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I built my stormcluster I rocksimed it and it said that it was stable so I didn't add any weight. I have flown it 5 times so far and it has been stable.
     
  9. Jul 30, 2003 #9

    EMRR

    EMRR

    EMRR

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,782
    Likes Received:
    0


    So can I take these and put them on EMRR????? (not to mention why they weren't there to begin with :) )

    Nick
     
  10. Jul 30, 2003 #10

    Stymye

    Stymye

    Stymye

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    7,568
    Likes Received:
    0
    ..oops ....thanks for the reminder Nick..(ouch).I'll send the maxi V2 rsim file also .I need to touch them up first .. also the stormcaster fins don't seem just right in the rsim I posted ..close .but not right...
     

Share This Page

Group Builder