Some interesting Nike combinations..

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Silverleaf

Reaction score
Howdy,

As a scale freak, I was doing the normal surfing for images, details and the like. Now mind you, I'm no expert on every single combination of missile thats been thought of and created, but when I saw this link, it made me sit up and take notice.

https://www.goerigk-jever.de/javelin.htm

For those that have problems with the link - it was a bit finiky, here is what got my full attention.

The Nike Story: The Unknown Chapter
By Captain Lange

A brief article in a regional newspaper mentioning the unsuccessful launch of a NIKE-ORION inspired me to learn more about this rocket. The mystery of the NIKE-ORION was finally solved with the kind assistance of many U.S. firms, the Documentation Center of the German Armed Forces and the assistance of Mr. Grill of the Max Planck Institute for Aeronautics.

Unexpectedly, this research also revealed many hitherto unknown uses for the M5-E1 Nike rocket motor -- the booster stage of the Ajax, and, in a cluster of four, the first stage of the Hercules.

As the U.S. Army phased out the HONEST JOHN, the NIKE AJAX, and (later) the NIKE HERCULES systems, their solid fuel motors were bought up by the aerospace industry.

By joining these widely-available boosters together with other rocket types, a large number of inexpensive and extremely reliable rockets suitable for both civil and military research, were produced.

In addition to NASA, the U.S. Air Force and other institutions, the German Federal Ministry of Science also utilized these rockets. In 1970, for example, a Javelin D4 (a Nike-derived research rocket) fired from Natal, Brazil, carried an impulse transponder for slant range and trajectory measurement, to an altitude of roughly 900 kilometers and across a horizontal distance of 800 kilometers.