Simple Launch Controller That Seems Complex?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kruegon

Reaction score
I want to build a simple launch controller with a few features that make it seem and operate like a complex controller.

Anything electrical is new ground to me. It's not something I grew up doing, nor have I studied anything on it. You should imagine that I am "special" when discussing this. Use small words. Drawings need to be simple. But I need to build a launch controller and the plans u found online look like electrical engineers wrote them lol.

I'd like to build something that works like the one I saw on DogHouse rocketry. And I'd like to use this type of battery or its smaller counterpart:
ImageUploadedByRocketry Forum1453048296.660083.jpg

I'd like a continuity test at the pad and at the controller. A strobe for when the pad box is active and the ability to plug in, or even build into the box a siren/wailer/alarm for when the pad is active. It's be awesome if the siren sounded like the NASA launch alarm at Cape Canaveral. Oh, and I definitely want to avoid any kind of programming. I learned a long time ago that it's not for me.

There's a second launch controller I want to build, but it's a different monster completely. With individual, external arming boxes. This one would be a simple 4 channel box with arming keys and switches so that the kids can switch on and arm their individual rockets from a small controller and the LCO could flip the master switch to launch it. Try to get the kids involved but still leave the actual fire control in the hands of the LCO. Good for school and scout launches.

Maybe I'll learn something unique and eye opening in this process. I'd be nice to be able to create our own launch systems from the pads to the controllers and everything in between.