Side question on the freefalling rocket discussion

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

clscharrer

Reaction score
Although I built my first rocket in the 70's, I didn't start flying them until a few years ago (an unrelated discussion), so I am a rookie in this arena. I agree with the general population of the group about following the safety rules, and not try to develop a rocket that is inherently unsafe by design. That said, what if the rocket is an off the shelf production version, with seemingly unsafe parts? I have purchased a couple of small 1.5" fiberglass MPR's from what I would consider one of the major manufacturers, and the nose cones have very pointy aluminum tips. The look is real cool, but I wince when I look at them and think about what could happen if the recovery system malfunctions. Most of my rockets are fiberglass medium power, (my training back in the day was custom cars so my passion for this sport is a lot about finished Hot Rods). My fleet is no frills, fairly robust but easy to repair if needed, and the fins and nose cone tips do get banged up on good flights. But I look at these two new ones and can only imagine how bad their flights could end. Are these metal tipped nose cones considered a safety risk? I have thought about blunting them but I am pretty sure that is inconsequential to what might happen if they come in ballistic. Is there an unspoken rule I missed?

Those small nosecone would be prohibited by the model rocket safety code. The high power safety codes don’t prohibit metal tips and simply restrict the use of metal to “as needed.”