Shock cord management

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chris_H

Reaction score
I have always Z-folded my shock cords, using tape, to keep them organized and also for some shock relief on deployment.

I am about to build a 6" airframe rocket and have a question for the hive mind... The drogue shock cord will be 50' of 1"tubular nylon webbing. Does anyone use something like a 'throw bag' used in whitewater river rescue, where the cord would be carefully 'stacked' inside a bag with a drawstring closure? A hard foul-up could be very bad, but a carefully stacked cord should pull cleanly every time. A purpose built nomex bag would be clean and fast to pack, and would take the place of a blanket.

For those using long lengths of 1" webbing, how do you manage your shock cords?

Thoughts?

I have no experience with 1" shock cord, but I discussed this general idea with my TAPs for my L3 in progress. Didn't seem to be a lot of support from them, I was planning on folding and taping. It's a 7.5" LOC Bruiser EXP for reference.

Pretty much anyone else responding is going to have more experience than me, so take this with a pound of salt.

I've been flying a 6" rocket with about 35' of 1" TN. I've been using the pant legs of some old Nomex uniforn firefighter pants as deployment bags..a very short video..that shows the pant leg deployment bags...after a flight

Tony

I've been flying a 6" rocket with about 35' of 1" TN. I've been using the pant legs of some old Nomex uniforn firefighter pants as deployment bags..a very short video..that shows the pant leg deployment bags...after a flight

Tony

Thank you, Tony.

What is inside that shock cord deployment bag? Is it folded and taped in there?

I like the idea of the pantleg (bag) Efficient!