Shock cord knot

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scott Nokes

Reaction score
Hello all

I have a loc hi tech 45 , 2.6in and weighs about 25oz. I've got some 3/8 the Elastic from hobby lobby and it's 4 times the length of the rocket witch I've read shock cord should be 3-4 x the length of the rocket.
What type of knot do I tie the ends with to thread my quick links on?
I'm no good at sewing.
If I do fig 8 obits, can I epoxy the free ends down to the main to reinforce the knot Incase comes undone
Thank you

figure 8s are good. doubled figure 8s are even better. don't bother with epoxyon the ends, tgey do not untie themselves... like some other knots.

of course, check everything before every flight

I encase my knots in epoxy.

Hi, I'm no expert by any means but simply listen to the valuable info people give. I previously an idea to epoxy a knot and several valuable members told me it's not advisable because the cord will become weak or brittle at the glued area. I have since give away from this idea now. I think it's important to isolate every possibility as much as we can to avoid failure.

I just tie a double overhand knot and set it with a drop of glue. Sometimes I fold the end over to make a loop, apply glue, then a staple or two.

Hello all

I have a loc hi tech 45 , 2.6in and weighs about 25oz. I've got some 3/8 the Elastic from hobby lobby and it's 4 times the length of the rocket witch I've read shock cord should be 3-4 x the length of the rocket.
What type of knot do I tie the ends with to thread my quick links on?
I'm no good at sewing.
If I do fig 8 obits, can I epoxy the free ends down to the main to reinforce the knot Incase comes undone
Thank you