SHEAR PIN CALCULATION, THE ENGINEERING APPROACH

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BBS

Reaction score
Introduction

Last week I felt like a mailman being attacked by a wild pack of wiener dogs after trying to suggest that “Drag Separation” was not really hard to understand or overcome. Some members here took exception to my simplistic view of physics and the way that things work, in my experience. It was a weird place for me to find myself in. Rather than argue the validity of a myth, or that of a methodology, to overcome the belief in a misnamed phenomenon, let me begin fresh. I really have no desire to respond to attacks on either my intelligence or my beliefs. Faith is what we humans revert to, in the absence of evidence, to support our beliefs. I do not ask for your faith, I ask for your open mind and the benefit of the doubt.

Background

I am an Engineer. I have been making a living as an Engineer of one type or another, primarily a Mechanical Engineer, for 40 years. I have a degree in art.

Motivation

Having had such a lengthy and varied career, there are some things that have become second nature in my approach to problem solving in my work, and by extension, in my hobby. I thought that I could help someone else struggling to grasp the concepts and forces that impact my favorite past time, high power rocketry.

I like designing. I like building. I like learning. I like improving my skills. I like passing on knowledge.

A member, Bat-mite, who began a thread that I referenced in my introduction, asked for his peers to check his math as he was trying to understand how many shear pins he needed to use to prevent drag separation.

Simple question, I thought, I have something to offer. It didn’t go well for me.