Semroc Mars Lander

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Steven40

Reaction score
Hi Folks,

I recently finished the Semroc Mars Lander. Don't intend to fly it, just a hanger queen for now.

I did some modifications including using springs instead of rubber bands for suspension.

I took detailed photos of various steps and will post if there's interest!

Steve

Attachments

• ML-1small.jpg
    ML-1small.jpg
    59.6 KB · Views: 72
It looks awesome! I love the Mars Lander design, even more after seeing the movie and reading the book "The Martian".

I have mixed feelings- if I build a rocket I think it has to be flown at least one time, and I understand the risk involved for a kit that I've put a lot of hours into.

I'm working on my own Mars Lander that I've been working on for many years. I've been held up by the raised panel detail, now I've decided on a couple of variations to try so now I have to do some tests of them.

Here goes!

Semroc would have you build the thing and then start sanding and finishing the completed rocket. I prefer to completely finish sub-assemblies, then assemble, taking care to remove paint at glue joints. BTW, I used Tamiya acrylic paints which I airbrushed.

Here are a few sub-assemblies. Note the rubber bands; I hadn't decided to go with springs at this point.

Attachments

• ML1.jpg
    ML1.jpg
    280.9 KB · Views: 69
Deciding to use springs, I remembered buying a bag of assorted springs from Micro-Mark several years ago. By some miracle I found them!

Attachments

• mars3.jpg
    mars3.jpg
    270.2 KB · Views: 48
After choosing a few that had a proper "feel" to them, I attached one to a leg, and adjusted the tension by adjusting the length as shown. I was going for an amount of tension matching the rubber bands.

Attachments

• mars9.jpg
    mars9.jpg
    105.6 KB · Views: 65
  • spring1.jpg
    spring1.jpg