SBR Fusion Build Thread

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

QBrandt

Reaction score
I've been doing HPR as part of a University team for several years. Been reading bits and pieces around here about as long, and it was amazingly helpful, if time consuming.
I helped some people build kits for Level 1 certs last year. Since I won't be able to help as much this year, I thought a reference document might useful. That's what this is. Worst case, I just get practice at documenting projects.

I picked up an SBR Fusion Kit. Worked on a lot of smaller rockets the past year, wanted something I could actually get my hands in. It also comes with almost everything but the motor.
What tipped me was the optional RRC3 altimeter, which came at a discount.

Since I'm still waiting on my epoxy to arrive, going to organize and overview the kit. Part lists generally go left to right, top to bottom. (I'm not normally this organized, I just had time.)

Tubes and Rings
XmVbA3z.jpg

29mm Adapter
- 29mm Tube (11.3" long)
- 4x centering rings (3x 54 to 29, 1x Base)

38mm Adapter
- 38mm Tube (11.3" long)
- 4x centering rings (3x 54 to 38, 1x Base)

54mm Motor Mount
- 54mm Tube (11.3" long)
- 3x Fins (0.125" thick, 5 ply)
- Forward Centering Ring (one hole for eyebolt)
- Aft Centering Ring (two holes for T-nuts)

Payload Bay
- 2x Bulkplates
- 2x 3.9" Coupler (7" long)
- 3.9" Tube (4.25" long)

Airframe
- Slotted 3.9" Tube (17" long)
- 3.9" Tube (17" long)
- Plastic Nose Cone (16" exposed length, Ogive?)
All pretty standard. Tubes are cardboard, wood is 1/8" 5 ply (motor adapter pieces are 3 ply).
All body tubes have a vertical red line, for rail button alignment.
Also, the fins have a rear chamfer to allow for fillets.

Recovery and Hardware
BemXK1F.jpg

Recovery
- 15" Top Flight Chute
- 45" Top Flight Chute
- 2x 1/2" Tubular Nylon Shock Cord (10' and 20')