Quantcast

Rocksim Use

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

Plastic nose cones or Balsa nose cones?

  • I prefer plastic nose cones.

  • I prefer Balsa nose cones.

  • I prefer plastic nose cones.

  • I prefer Balsa nose cones.


Results are only viewable after voting.

edwardw

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2004
Messages
2,116
Reaction score
0
I was wondering how many of ya'll who scratch build use Rocksim for your design?

Edward
 

LBarron

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2003
Messages
66
Reaction score
1
I use it all the time - wouldn't design anything without it. I think it's a fantastic program, well worth the money and indispensible for creating custom designs or verifying the characteristics of a kit.

Leland
 

Rocketmaniac

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2003
Messages
4,053
Reaction score
0
I have version 7...... But I have a problem with my computer and I get errors all the time........ I want to use it a lot, I'll have to wait until I re-do my computer...... For now I can "view" rkt files all day long, just can't create them.......
 

n3tjm

Papa Elf
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
7,343
Reaction score
220
Location
Penns Creek, PA
Do you have the latest version installed? For me, rocksim works fine :). I had to contact Tim for the latest version though.
 

flying_silverad

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2002
Messages
3,141
Reaction score
1
I just ordered the latest version of Rock Simm and have heard alot of "stories" about errors etc,. has anybody else experienced this? I have Windows XP.
 

LBarron

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2003
Messages
66
Reaction score
1
I'm currently using Version 5 with XP and everything is ok. I have
Version 7 sitting here but haven't installed it yet. Might not be in too much of a hurry either given these last few comments..

Leland
 

cls

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
2,217
Reaction score
0
I use rocksim v7.0.latest on both Win2k and XP. works fine on both but it worked a lot better on my Win2k system after I updated the video driver! you might try that.

good news: I used rocksim for several hours a day for the last 8 months. it saved the bacon on more than one project so it's definitely worth the $$$.

bad news: got a job so the full-body rocketry obsession has to scale back to just a passion.
 

LBarron

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2003
Messages
66
Reaction score
1
bummer about that job. i hate it when work gets in teh way! :)
 

LBarron

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2003
Messages
66
Reaction score
1
i guess that's supposed to be "the" way.... oops....
 

teflonrocketry1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2011
Messages
1,625
Reaction score
1
I have RockSim Versions 5, 6, and 7 all installed and running on Windows ME on the same computer! I even have RockSim version 4 running on a Windows 95 platform. You can only run one version of RockSim at a time though. I frequently go back and forth between RockSim versions 6 and 7 through WordPad. I can even create RockSim version 6 and 7 files with MS Word and MS Excel!

Bruce S. Levison, NAR #69055
 

Stymye

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
7,568
Reaction score
4
using Win xp
I have the latest verson 7 and it won't print cluster templates.?

it will only print the central motor circle, or none at all.
single motor designs work fine
and everything else runs smooth
they are aware of the glitch but ,so far, no fix
 

flying_silverad

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2002
Messages
3,141
Reaction score
1
One of my bigest hang-uos with the other software (spcad) is that you can't print some fins, and centering ring patterns rpint incorrectly. That's why I am switching. I would think that if something like not printing cluster templates incorrectly will have me somewhat ticked If I just shelled out over a hunderd bucks for it. I'll just have to wait and see.

Have they given any time frame for known glithes?
 

rbeckey

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
1,517
Reaction score
1
I have v. 6 and Win XP and no problems that I am aware of. I have used it to print CR patterns on label paper and it sems to be very accurate. I have considered v.7 but that is way too much to upgrade to a buggy app. The bugs have been known for a long time and it seems if they really intended to spend the time fixing them, they would already be fixed.
 

vjp

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
1,487
Reaction score
0
Originally posted by rbeckey
I have v. 6 and Win XP and no problems that I am aware of. I have used it to print CR patterns on label paper and it sems to be very accurate. I have considered v.7 but that is way too much to upgrade to a buggy app. The bugs have been known for a long time and it seems if they really intended to spend the time fixing them, they would already be fixed.
If you use RockSim to print cluster centering rings, don't upgrade to 7.0.3.1 - there is a bug which causes only one hole to be rendered.

This worked in the original 7.0 release - I'm not sure which incremental upgrade the problem started in, but it's clearly broken in 7.0.3.1.
 

flying_silverad

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2002
Messages
3,141
Reaction score
1
Wow. I got my copy of RocSim 7 today and it installed in a flash. Great training videos at the beginning too. I have run a few rocks through it and it seems very well behaved!

The only thing I have yet to figure out is how to put pods on fins?? Or can I?

Anyway, I am writing a follow-up for EMRR as soon as I play around a little but more. For now lets say the other software is...for sale!:D
 

astronboy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2002
Messages
2,437
Reaction score
0
I started with 6 and upgraded to 7. I had a few bugs at first, but received a 'fix disc' from Apogee. It has worked fine from there. Yes, I hate the cluster problem, but I am sure that this will be offered as a free upgrade.

I use Rocsim all the time. My main interest is in scale models. Since scale mod-rocs do not have the gyroscopes and gymballing motors of the full sized protorypes, many times, the model is actually unstable. Rocsim allows me to play with the design and determine if I want to add nose weight (including exactly how much) or expand the fins a bit, etc. I love being able to do this.

Basically, Rocsim allows me to build models that are 'close to the edge' and ensure that they are safe to launch. In the past I had to build a boilerplate model, and string test it, then play with fin size, or nose weight.
 

teflonrocketry1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2011
Messages
1,625
Reaction score
1
Originally posted by flying_silverad
The only thing I have yet to figure out is how to put pods on fins?? Or can I?
You can add side pods to the fins in RockSim version7; you will have to read my latest article to find out how to do this visit:

http://www.apogeerockets.com/education/downloads/Newsletter119.pdf

If you need help with this type of simulation, just PM me.

Bruce S. Levison, NAR #69055
 

flying_silverad

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2002
Messages
3,141
Reaction score
1
Originally posted by teflonrocketry1
You can add side pods to the fins in RockSim version7; you will have to read my latest article to find out how to do this visit:

http://www.apogeerockets.com/education/downloads/Newsletter119.pdf

If you need help with this type of simulation, just PM me.

Bruce S. Levison, NAR #69055
I have to say, I am really loving this software! I have been using brand X for while to get my feet wet again and it was fine. But Getting RocSim is going from a 64 Chevy Bel Air, to a Z06!:D
 

solrules

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2003
Messages
363
Reaction score
0
I always use rocksim for my rockets: no matter if they are kits or scratch. Only problem is i dual boot Lunux and Windows XP Pro for just one program: rocksim.
 

Gus

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
1,685
Reaction score
50
I run version 7 on an older iMac with Virtual PC Windows 98. It runs fine, although I'm waiting anxiously for Tim's System X version. I love the program, does everything I want it to and has taught me a lot. Well worth the $100.
 

gpoehlein

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
3,555
Reaction score
9
Yeah - I run v7 under XP and I've not really had any trouble with it (It does crash while converting a couple of v6 rocket designs such as the Trident - I think it's those nose cones)

I also run it on my Ibook under Virtual PC running win98. It is a little slow on the simulations, but otherwise does just fine there too.

Greg
 
Top