Quantcast

Rocksim Overhaul Data Files

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

Slickwilly

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
619
Reaction score
0
Finally done! THIS IS A TOTAL OVERHAUL!!! I got tired of the data files being a jumbled mess so I added lots of new stuff and reworded many older files to make it easier to understand dimensions and styles. I corrected a few dimensional and material type errors also. I alphabetically organized the manufacturers and numerically organized the sizes. Added many mass object files like hardware and electronics. The only problem with this overhaul is when you put the data files in your (newdata or new) folder it will add duplicates and scramble all the info.
Every thing I have edited is the same as what you had just easier to understand. So to do this right you need to:

1.) Go to your Rocksim data folder.
2.) Create a new folder and name it backup or whatever.
3.) Move all your **DATA files into the backup folder. (Not the engine files)
4.) Unzip the overhaul files into your (newdata or new) folder that is in your Rocksim data folder.
5.) Start up Rocksim and the overhaul info will be added.
6.) If you have a problem with the new **DATA files working, all you need to do is delete the new **DATA files in your data folder and copy your old **DATA files from your backup folder into your (newdata or new) folder. Everything will be like it was before.

I worked on this for weeks and I think you will really enjoy using the new files.
If anyone has a problem installing, please let me know and I can help you. :)

View attachment Rocksim Overhaul 2010.zip
 
Last edited:

kandsrockets

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
3,014
Reaction score
0
What version of rocksim data files did you start with?
 

Slickwilly

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
619
Reaction score
0
I started with Rocksim 7 and edited the units and shape columns to work with all versions.
 

kandsrockets

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
3,014
Reaction score
0
In your coupler file you have phenolic for the material for LOC couplers, they are paper. Also madcow and Flis should be paper
 

Marlin523

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2009
Messages
728
Reaction score
0
Ok, tried it, now I have no engine files HELP?????
 

Marlin523

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2009
Messages
728
Reaction score
0
OK, Rocksim opens, but I have no engine files - please help???
 

TheAviator

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
832
Reaction score
20
You probably moved EVERYTHING to the back-up folder. The only files you were supposed to move were the XXDATA.csv files, where XX is a two letter pair for what the files contain (BT for Body Tubes, NC for nose cones, etc). Just find the *.rse files and move them back into your data folder. Then go to File>Reload Engines...
 

Marlin523

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2009
Messages
728
Reaction score
0
I got all my engine files right. Now I need to clean up my .CSV files. Are these parts databases? Where do they go? I assume all the .BAK files are back-ups. Thanks for your help. I'm really better at using the software than I am at fixing it - HA:roll:
 

Slickwilly

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
619
Reaction score
0
Yes it does.

They are probably paper phenol. Phenolic is the resin material.

Here a usefull reference from http://www.mcmaster.com

http://www.mcmaster.com/library/20080415/8549KAC.pdf

paper phenolic is similar to Garolite XX

Bob
Thanks for info. The problem with updating stuff is the manufacturer is not clear alot of times about dimensions and types of materials. I tried e-mailing a few of them but did'nt get a response.
If you see anything else wrong please let me know and I will update and re-post. :)
 

TheAviator

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
832
Reaction score
20
I got all my engine files right. Now I need to clean up my .CSV files. Are these parts databases? Where do they go? I assume all the .BAK files are back-ups. Thanks for your help. I'm really better at using the software than I am at fixing it - HA:roll:
All of the .csv files go in the following path:

C:\Program_Files\Rocksim8\Data\
 

Marlin523

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2009
Messages
728
Reaction score
0
Thanks. I think I have all that figured out, but I'm having trouble with ENG EDIT. Where does it belong?
 

redsox15

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2009
Messages
550
Reaction score
0
wait im confused...I dont need to individually input the new data into rocksim myself? I can just drag and drop essentially?

Matt
 

TheAviator

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
832
Reaction score
20
wait im confused...I dont need to individually input the new data into rocksim myself? I can just drag and drop essentially?

Matt
Here's what you do:


  1. Make a folder in your C:/ProgramFiles/Rocksim/Data called Back-up
  2. Move all files with the name XXDATA.CSV into the folder you created (XX is a two letter code for what's in the file)
  3. Move the new files into the Data folder to replace the old ones.
It's as simple as that.
 

wonderbucket

Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Since this was originally posted, there has been a location change on the Data folder. There are now two Data folders. The one mentioned in the post is not the correct folder. You need to find the other Data folder. The location is:

Mac: HD/Users/USERNAME/Library/Application Support/ApogeeComponents/RockSim_9/Data

Windows: Local Disk (C:)/Users/USERNAME/AppData/Local/ApogeeComponents/RockSim_9/Data

These locations are defaulted to be hidden, so if you don't have your computer set to show hidden files and folders, they will not show up.

This is also the new location for motor files.
 

BigRiJoe

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Messages
333
Reaction score
19
Okay.I found the file under AppData. What do I do next to complete the overhaul?
 
Top