Quantcast

Rocksim 10

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

gary7

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Messages
655
Reaction score
56
Location
Mahomet, IL
New post on the Apogee website announces release of Rocksim 10 next month. There are a couple of things mentioned there. One is that the upgrade will be free to current users.

Anyone who uses or doesn't AND who has more than just "every day computer" user experience care to comment with their thoughts, opinions etc? I am not asking for an Open Rocket comparison.

I have had Rocksim for about 10 years and rely on it heavily for design and motor selection. I have done my share of very successful scratch designing and building different high power rockets that I otherwise would not have been able to do. I really enjoy it and like it very much.
 

Speaknoevil

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2018
Messages
1,144
Reaction score
522
Use it. Love it. Only issue is that it does a complete reinstall after you go through a Windows reset. Instead of preserving any .rkt files you have in the Designs directory, it overwrites them. Ugh! Lost tons in my last recovery which I had to do on a short time line and forgot to extract my rocket design directory. Now with better OneDrive support by Microsoft, I keep them all remote.
 

kuririn

BARGeezer
TRF Supporter
Joined
Oct 3, 2016
Messages
4,820
Reaction score
2,432
Location
Hawaii
I like the little cartoon simulation of the flight profile.:D
Hopefully it won't be another ten years before we see a Rock Sim 11.
 

neil_w

Chuffed as ninepence
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jul 14, 2015
Messages
9,773
Reaction score
2,890
Location
Northern NJ
Huh, I had figured it was never going to be updated again. Interesting that Tim brought it in-house.
 

FredA

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
2,092
Reaction score
301
Wow -- thanks - built a new computer and completely forgot about installing Rocsim - good to know about the update too!
Got to find how to move my license before I retire the outgoing machine.
Anybody know the process? Seems that's all I've been doing for the last week is digging up and typing long license keys.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MGL

gary7

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Messages
655
Reaction score
56
Location
Mahomet, IL
Wow -- thanks - built a new computer and completely forgot about installing Rocsim - good to know about the update too!
Got to find how to move my license before I retire the outgoing machine.
Anybody know the process? Seems that's all I've been doing for the last week is digging up and typing long license keys.
You will need your product key from the original install. Many may be unaware that there are more than one installations available when you purchase the program. You can use one of your installations or email Apogee and ask if you are eligible for them to deactivate your install since you got a new computer. They will also have a record of your purchase with the original activation key required for installation/activation.
 

ksaves2

Lifetime Supporter
TRF Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Nov 25, 2009
Messages
5,897
Reaction score
282
Cool,

I think I can dig up my license key on one of my Linux boxes. Anyone remember the suffix on the file. I diddled with WINE for a few years and actually got the thing to run. VMware doing a windows partition under linux was easier.
When running WINE only thing that wouldn't work is the generation of the rocket icon of the design you were testing. The generic rocket worked fine. I worked my tail off getting Burnsim to run under WINE and affter I mastered that, I
loaded Rocksim and it worked fine. Kurt
 

warnerr

Lifetime Supporter
TRF Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
350
Reaction score
41
Great news! Long overdue! Thanks for updating the motor lists- having to import them was just another annoying task. Looking forward!
 

MGL

Active Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Nov 13, 2012
Messages
40
Reaction score
13
Location
Mineral Wells, Texaas
Wow -- thanks - built a new computer and completely forgot about installing Rocsim - good to know about the update too!
Got to find how to move my license before I retire the outgoing machine.
Anybody know the process? Seems that's all I've been doing for the last week is digging up and typing long license keys.
Give Michelle a call, she fixes me up every time I need to reactivate.
 

chrocket

Active Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2020
Messages
26
Reaction score
13
Wow -- thanks - built a new computer and completely forgot about installing Rocsim - good to know about the update too!
Got to find how to move my license before I retire the outgoing machine.
Anybody know the process? Seems that's all I've been doing for the last week is digging up and typing long license keys.
You go over Help -> Product Activation...
Then a pop-up windows is displayed, where you can opt to "Deactivate RockSim 9 on this computer"
Works well and reliable.
 

Buckeye

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
2,459
Reaction score
336
The batch motor run will be very cool. This should give the convenience of thrustcurve but with the accuracy of rocksim. I had to write my own add on to rocksim 15 years ago to do this very thing.[emoji122][emoji122][emoji122]
 

StanHemphill

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2011
Messages
2
Reaction score
3
New post on the Apogee website announces release of Rocksim 10 next month. There are a couple of things mentioned there. One is that the upgrade will be free to current users.

Anyone who uses or doesn't AND who has more than just "every day computer" user experience care to comment with their thoughts, opinions etc? I am not asking for an Open Rocket comparison.

I have had Rocksim for about 10 years and rely on it heavily for design and motor selection. I have done my share of very successful scratch designing and building different high power rockets that I otherwise would not have been able to do. I really enjoy it and like it very much.
I love the program. I think the algorithms for flight and the display and so on are good. The management of the motor library is also more or less OK. Importing motor files may be a little troublesome for some folks, but it's never really bothered me all that much. But, parts library management and maintenance is a little troublesome (actually more than a little, it a right pain in the ass). I really really get into the component models. I buy lots of parts, say a bag of 10-20 centering rings, body tubes, or motor hooks at a time. I measure them with calipers, weigh them with a lab scale, and then divide the numbers by 10-20 to get real/actual real world average dimensions and weights for parts that I commonly use (I even try to create "materials" with density and so on so that if I change the length of a body tube the weight will automatically update). For me, success, is when the CG and weight of my model in Rocksim is the same as the real world and I DON'T have to use Mass or CG override to set the real world parameters. This is not so easy to do. Over time I've started managing the csv files manually, but the structure of the files is a little ambiguous, and the mass object and materials files are particularly difficult to maintain. Overtime (a long time) I figured it out by trial and error and built an Excel VBA Program to maintain the library items in spreadsheet format, and then to automatically write the csv files in the correct format.

I think it would be orgasmic if Rocksim had a motor and component part management engine with a reasonable user interface to go with the program.

P.S. I've never used Open Rocket. I've got a deep seated loyalty to Apogee and I'll never change from Rocksim, but there are things I would like to see better.
 

Nytrunner

Pop lugs, not drugs
Joined
Oct 15, 2016
Messages
7,017
Reaction score
2,447
Location
Huntsville AL
Is the new version better at transonic and supersonic flight simulations than the previous?
 

dvdsnyd

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 9, 2012
Messages
153
Reaction score
23
Is the new version better at transonic and supersonic flight simulations than the previous?
Doubt it. From the blog post on Apogee's site:

"Well… don’t expect too many new features. Our primary goal at this point is for our new programmer to learn his way around in the spaghetti bowl of code that makes up RockSim. It is a big program with lots of tentacles. The directive I gave him was to learn where things are located, and to fix the nuisance bugs that we’ve been doing work-arounds for, for so long."

So mostly just some small UI tweaks and bug fixes. Still, really good to see that it's going to be developed further!
Dave
 

FredA

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
2,092
Reaction score
301
"Well… don’t expect too many new features. Our primary goal at this point is for our new programmer to learn his way around in the spaghetti bowl of code that makes up RockSim. It is a big program with lots of tentacles. The directive I gave him was to learn where things are located, and to fix the nuisance bugs that we’ve been doing work-arounds for, for so long."

So mostly just some small UI tweaks and bug fixes. Still, really good to see that it's going to be developed further!
New programmer....spaghetti code....makes one worry....wonder what in inject/fix ratio will be for bugs in the end.....
 

Blast it Tom!

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Dec 30, 2019
Messages
393
Reaction score
209
Location
Pittsburgh
How much does it cost? I've not been able to find a cost on the site. I guess there are two versions. I have the original book that the software is based on for at lest low power flights, but they've extended it quite a bit with a CAD interface and what-not, as I understand it. Plus, I'm still working and don't need to get into making my own batch of spaghetti code.
 

rcktnut

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2009
Messages
1,592
Reaction score
174
Location
Sheboygan WI
I'm happy with 9 on my win 7 computer which is now off line. Won't bother installing the program on my new computer.
 

g.pitts

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Aug 27, 2019
Messages
263
Reaction score
118
Location
Beaverton, OR
How much does it cost? I've not been able to find a cost on the site. I guess there are two versions. I have the original book that the software is based on for at lest low power flights, but they've extended it quite a bit with a CAD interface and what-not, as I understand it. Plus, I'm still working and don't need to get into making my own batch of spaghetti code.

https://www.apogeerockets.com/Rocket_Software/RockSim

If this isn’t the variant you are looking for, call Apogee next week. They’re quite helpful.
 
Last edited:

Blast it Tom!

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Dec 30, 2019
Messages
393
Reaction score
209
Location
Pittsburgh
Well, dear glory you needed a "Let me Google that for you..." link. I have no idea why I couldn't find it... ah, it's because I didn't click on the "Order Now" link...

Much thanks! Like your avatar!
 

BEC

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
3,227
Reaction score
311
Location
Auburn, WA
I hope that one of the things they fix is the Mac installation. I have never been able to get it to run on my current machine (and no, I haven't gone to the much-hated-by-developers Catalina version of macOs). It does run on the cheapo Lenovo Win10 laptop I use in the field for downloading altimeter data, albeit slowly. I'd really like it to run here....
 

Jon Dubrick

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Nov 24, 2019
Messages
56
Reaction score
18
Location
Los Angeles
Wow -- thanks - built a new computer and completely forgot about installing Rocsim - good to know about the update too!
Got to find how to move my license before I retire the outgoing machine.
Anybody know the process? Seems that's all I've been doing for the last week is digging up and typing long license keys.
 

Jon Dubrick

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Nov 24, 2019
Messages
56
Reaction score
18
Location
Los Angeles
Your able to transfer up to three computers. If you still have your access code, if not.contact them
 

Woody's Workshop

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
4,126
Reaction score
144
Location
Reed City, Michigan (Lower)
The last I knew, if you lost your license key Tim could look up your purchase. But, he charged $10 for a new key if he found your purchase.
I printed out the Email with the license key, folded it up and tucked it in the CD case with the program CD.
If it's a downloaded program, I burn it to a CD and put it in a case with the printed Email key.
Can't loose it then unless you loose the whole works.
I don't save anything from any program under the default file system.
I always save files outside the program, usually under documents in program specific sub folders.
First of every month I back up to a stand alone hard drive on the side.
It's only turned on to do the back up each month.
The last one I had I let run all the time, and when I needed it to restore to my new computer it didn't work.
Lost everything. Luckily, before I got that first side hard drive I had written most of my files to CD's.
Probably something I should consider to do in the near future, just in case...
 

Latest posts

Top