Rocksim 10

Discussion in 'Rocketry Electronics and Software' started by gary7, Feb 13, 2020.

Help Support The Rocketry Forum by donating:

  1. Feb 13, 2020 #1

    gary7

    gary7

    gary7

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Mahomet, IL
    New post on the Apogee website announces release of Rocksim 10 next month. There are a couple of things mentioned there. One is that the upgrade will be free to current users.

    Anyone who uses or doesn't AND who has more than just "every day computer" user experience care to comment with their thoughts, opinions etc? I am not asking for an Open Rocket comparison.

    I have had Rocksim for about 10 years and rely on it heavily for design and motor selection. I have done my share of very successful scratch designing and building different high power rockets that I otherwise would not have been able to do. I really enjoy it and like it very much.
     
    aerostadt likes this.
  2. Feb 13, 2020 #2

    Speaknoevil

    Speaknoevil

    Speaknoevil

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2018
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    162
    Use it. Love it. Only issue is that it does a complete reinstall after you go through a Windows reset. Instead of preserving any .rkt files you have in the Designs directory, it overwrites them. Ugh! Lost tons in my last recovery which I had to do on a short time line and forgot to extract my rocket design directory. Now with better OneDrive support by Microsoft, I keep them all remote.
     
  3. Feb 13, 2020 #3

    kuririn

    kuririn

    kuririn

    BARGeezer TRF Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2016
    Messages:
    3,129
    Likes Received:
    910
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I like the little cartoon simulation of the flight profile.:D
    Hopefully it won't be another ten years before we see a Rock Sim 11.
     
  4. Feb 13, 2020 #4

    neil_w

    neil_w

    neil_w

    Pencil Pusher TRF Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    7,308
    Likes Received:
    1,344
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    Huh, I had figured it was never going to be updated again. Interesting that Tim brought it in-house.
     
  5. Feb 13, 2020 #5

    AfterBurners

    AfterBurners

    AfterBurners

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    7,036
    Likes Received:
    160
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    Wheres the link for the upgrade?
     
  6. Feb 13, 2020 #6

    FredA

    FredA

    FredA

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    137
    Wow -- thanks - built a new computer and completely forgot about installing Rocsim - good to know about the update too!
    Got to find how to move my license before I retire the outgoing machine.
    Anybody know the process? Seems that's all I've been doing for the last week is digging up and typing long license keys.
     
    MGL likes this.
  7. Feb 13, 2020 #7

    gary7

    gary7

    gary7

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Mahomet, IL
    Upgrade will not be available till next month.
     
  8. Feb 13, 2020 #8

    neil_w

    neil_w

    neil_w

    Pencil Pusher TRF Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    7,308
    Likes Received:
    1,344
    Location:
    Northern NJ
  9. Feb 13, 2020 #9

    gary7

    gary7

    gary7

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Mahomet, IL
    You will need your product key from the original install. Many may be unaware that there are more than one installations available when you purchase the program. You can use one of your installations or email Apogee and ask if you are eligible for them to deactivate your install since you got a new computer. They will also have a record of your purchase with the original activation key required for installation/activation.
     
  10. Feb 13, 2020 #10

    FredA

    FredA

    FredA

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    137
    Thanks Gary
     
  11. Feb 13, 2020 #11

    ksaves2

    ksaves2

    ksaves2

    Lifetime Supporter TRF Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    5,655
    Likes Received:
    118
    Cool,

    I think I can dig up my license key on one of my Linux boxes. Anyone remember the suffix on the file. I diddled with WINE for a few years and actually got the thing to run. VMware doing a windows partition under linux was easier.
    When running WINE only thing that wouldn't work is the generation of the rocket icon of the design you were testing. The generic rocket worked fine. I worked my tail off getting Burnsim to run under WINE and affter I mastered that, I
    loaded Rocksim and it worked fine. Kurt
     
  12. Feb 13, 2020 #12

    warnerr

    warnerr

    warnerr

    Lifetime Supporter TRF Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    36
    Great news! Long overdue! Thanks for updating the motor lists- having to import them was just another annoying task. Looking forward!
     
    downhill_D and Bill S like this.
  13. Feb 13, 2020 #13

    MGL

    MGL

    MGL

    Forum Supporter TRF Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Mineral Wells, Texaas
    Give Michelle a call, she fixes me up every time I need to reactivate.
     
    watheyak likes this.
  14. Feb 14, 2020 #14

    hartlch

    hartlch

    hartlch

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    6
    The extension on my license file is ".ilf"
     
  15. Feb 14, 2020 #15

    Fattbank64

    Fattbank64

    Fattbank64

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2018
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    31
    :)

    Component and motor databases also should be scrubbed.
     
    WhiskyTangoFoxtrot and Bill S like this.
  16. Feb 14, 2020 #16

    chrocket

    chrocket

    chrocket

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    You go over Help -> Product Activation...
    Then a pop-up windows is displayed, where you can opt to "Deactivate RockSim 9 on this computer"
    Works well and reliable.
     
  17. Feb 14, 2020 #17

    Buckeye

    Buckeye

    Buckeye

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,247
    Likes Received:
    184
    The batch motor run will be very cool. This should give the convenience of thrustcurve but with the accuracy of rocksim. I had to write my own add on to rocksim 15 years ago to do this very thing.
     
  18. Feb 14, 2020 #18

    ksaves2

    ksaves2

    ksaves2

    Lifetime Supporter TRF Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    5,655
    Likes Received:
    118

    Thanks
     
  19. Feb 14, 2020 #19

    StanHemphill

    StanHemphill

    StanHemphill

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2
    I love the program. I think the algorithms for flight and the display and so on are good. The management of the motor library is also more or less OK. Importing motor files may be a little troublesome for some folks, but it's never really bothered me all that much. But, parts library management and maintenance is a little troublesome (actually more than a little, it a right pain in the ass). I really really get into the component models. I buy lots of parts, say a bag of 10-20 centering rings, body tubes, or motor hooks at a time. I measure them with calipers, weigh them with a lab scale, and then divide the numbers by 10-20 to get real/actual real world average dimensions and weights for parts that I commonly use (I even try to create "materials" with density and so on so that if I change the length of a body tube the weight will automatically update). For me, success, is when the CG and weight of my model in Rocksim is the same as the real world and I DON'T have to use Mass or CG override to set the real world parameters. This is not so easy to do. Over time I've started managing the csv files manually, but the structure of the files is a little ambiguous, and the mass object and materials files are particularly difficult to maintain. Overtime (a long time) I figured it out by trial and error and built an Excel VBA Program to maintain the library items in spreadsheet format, and then to automatically write the csv files in the correct format.

    I think it would be orgasmic if Rocksim had a motor and component part management engine with a reasonable user interface to go with the program.

    P.S. I've never used Open Rocket. I've got a deep seated loyalty to Apogee and I'll never change from Rocksim, but there are things I would like to see better.
     
    dvdsnyd likes this.
  20. Feb 14, 2020 #20

    Nytrunner

    Nytrunner

    Nytrunner

    Master of Rivets

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5,640
    Likes Received:
    1,369
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Huntsville AL
    Is the new version better at transonic and supersonic flight simulations than the previous?
     
  21. Feb 14, 2020 #21

    dvdsnyd

    dvdsnyd

    dvdsnyd

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    10
    Doubt it. From the blog post on Apogee's site:

    "Well… don’t expect too many new features. Our primary goal at this point is for our new programmer to learn his way around in the spaghetti bowl of code that makes up RockSim. It is a big program with lots of tentacles. The directive I gave him was to learn where things are located, and to fix the nuisance bugs that we’ve been doing work-arounds for, for so long."

    So mostly just some small UI tweaks and bug fixes. Still, really good to see that it's going to be developed further!
    Dave
     
  22. Feb 14, 2020 #22

    FredA

    FredA

    FredA

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    137
    New programmer....spaghetti code....makes one worry....wonder what in inject/fix ratio will be for bugs in the end.....
     
    WhiskyTangoFoxtrot and g.pitts like this.
  23. Feb 14, 2020 #23

    Blast it Tom!

    Blast it Tom!

    Blast it Tom!

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2019
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    How much does it cost? I've not been able to find a cost on the site. I guess there are two versions. I have the original book that the software is based on for at lest low power flights, but they've extended it quite a bit with a CAD interface and what-not, as I understand it. Plus, I'm still working and don't need to get into making my own batch of spaghetti code.
     
  24. Feb 14, 2020 #24

    rcktnut

    rcktnut

    rcktnut

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    128
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sheboygan WI
    I'm happy with 9 on my win 7 computer which is now off line. Won't bother installing the program on my new computer.
     
  25. Feb 15, 2020 at 2:28 AM #25

    g.pitts

    g.pitts

    g.pitts

    Forum Supporter TRF Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2019
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    90
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR

    https://www.apogeerockets.com/Rocket_Software/RockSim

    If this isn’t the variant you are looking for, call Apogee next week. They’re quite helpful.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2020 at 3:52 AM
    Blast it Tom! likes this.
  26. Feb 15, 2020 at 3:49 AM #26

    Blast it Tom!

    Blast it Tom!

    Blast it Tom!

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2019
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Well, dear glory you needed a "Let me Google that for you..." link. I have no idea why I couldn't find it... ah, it's because I didn't click on the "Order Now" link...

    Much thanks! Like your avatar!
     
    g.pitts likes this.
  27. Feb 15, 2020 at 6:45 AM #27

    BEC

    BEC

    BEC

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,814
    Likes Received:
    121
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Auburn, WA
    I hope that one of the things they fix is the Mac installation. I have never been able to get it to run on my current machine (and no, I haven't gone to the much-hated-by-developers Catalina version of macOs). It does run on the cheapo Lenovo Win10 laptop I use in the field for downloading altimeter data, albeit slowly. I'd really like it to run here....
     

Share This Page

Group Builder