Rocketry Research Project - Q&A

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RobertKam

Reaction score
My name is Robert Kammermann and I am a Year 11 Student at Navigator College in Port Lincoln, Australia. As part of my Year 11, I am doing a Research Project on, "How is a High-Performance Model Rocket Built?”. Before I start my own build, I am interested in collecting Qualitative data from experienced individuals and rocketeers. I would appreciate it if you could please take up some of your time to answer these questions below.

What prior experience or qualifications do you have in rocketry?

For a Mid Power Rocket, what are the best materials to use in its construction? (For Fins, Fuselage, Nose Cone etc..)?

What payloads are suitable for Mid Power Rockets?

Do you believe that techniques, concepts and analysis applied on Model Rockets are also applicable on bigger, commercial rockets?

What books or reading materials do you recommend to those starting out and those with a background in model rockets?

Are kits better for rocketeers starting out? Is scratch building a better way for rocketeers to gain a grasp on all key building techniques?

Do you recommend rocketeers join a local club nearby?

Is farmland a suitable area to launch model rockets?

Thanks in advance,

Robert Kammermann
Year 11 Student

My name is Robert Kammermann and I am a Year 11 Student at Navigator College in Port Lincoln, Australia. As part of my Year 11, I am doing a Research Project on, "How is a High-Performance Model Rocket Built?”. Before I start my own build, I am interested in collecting Qualitative data from experienced individuals and rocketeers. I would appreciate it if you could please take up some of your time to answer these questions below.

For a Mid Power Rocket, what are the best materials to use in its construction? (For Fins, Fuselage, Nose Cone etc..)?