Recommendations for easy-to-use tracking device for total newb with no smartphone.

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
19K WOW! Did you get signal all the way up and down or when did you regain the signal? Also how far out did you land? What type of antennas did you use? I have thinking of adding a linear amplifier to increase the range but now I am thinking I won't need it at all.

Ahhhh, the EggFinder puts out 100mW on the 33cm (~915Mhz) band. First off in the air, the range can be quite far.
The 16mW 70cm Beeline GPS Ham band tracker is quite adequate. If one starts working with higher power, they will have to contend with possible interference with the deployment electronics. The 2 watt dog trackers have been known for that. Can shut down, reset or cause early deployment. Was an article to that effect in the NAR journal about 2 years ago. A 12", 16 foot tall rocket went in ballistic at MWP a couple of years ago from a dog tracker dorking the two deployment altimeters. More power is not necessarily better.

With the 33cm EggFinder a patch antenna on the receive end will give more range from a distance. It depends how far away from the launchsite one expects the rocket to go. A couple of miles should be no problem. Once one gets within where the last packet was heard, a new one will likely be received from the rocket on the ground (if the rocket hasn't been already seen). The amount of power required to get several mile range with a rocket lying on the ground is pretty prohibitive in the amount of battery weight one would need to carry and is not needed unless the rocket gets half cocked and shoots 4 miles downrange at low altitude.