Real quick question about RMS builds

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

blike

Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2009
Messages
24
Reaction score
0
I'm new to the mid-power rocket scene, so I don't really know much about reloadable systems. I already have an Aerotech rocket I'd like to start building, but I don't know if I'll need to wait till I get my RMS hardware to start. How does the casing work? Is it something that can be added to the rocket post-build, or will I have to have the RMS casing before I start buildling?
 

Ryan S.

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2003
Messages
3,553
Reaction score
0
you dont need to have the casing, build the rocket per the directions and the casing will fit in later. The casing is removable and is meant to fit in the tube after building is done.
 

Missileman

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2011
Messages
786
Reaction score
0
The only advantage to having the casing when building is for fitting whatever type of motor retention you plan on using, other than that it really makes no difference.
Your going to love the step up to RMS
 

n3tjm

Papa Elf
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
7,487
Reaction score
401
Location
Penns Creek, PA
The Aerotech Kits, if you follow the directions, will work with the following RMS motors without modification:

RMS 24/40 (use with 24mm adapter)
RMS 29/40-120
RMS 29/60 (use with F Spacer)
RMS 29/100
 

Ryan S.

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2003
Messages
3,553
Reaction score
0
I wish they made loads for the 60 and 100, thos were nice motors. Wait what am I talking about. I have a G104 LOL
 

n3tjm

Papa Elf
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
7,487
Reaction score
401
Location
Penns Creek, PA
Joe said they did make more loads for them... but I don't know which vendors got them :(.
 

BlueNinja

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
2,700
Reaction score
1
Yea, I use my casing to make sure the thrust ring is down far enough when I build an AT kit. Yes, I put it in. Also I periodically put it in the rocket while the glue is drying just to look at it. No idea why.
 

Ryan S.

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2003
Messages
3,553
Reaction score
0
hahaha I do that too man.....sometiems I just take my casings and throw them in a rocket ans start at them.......I dont know why...
 

cls

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
2,234
Reaction score
0
hey Blike,

surprised nobody mentioned it yet ... you don't need a reloadable casing, go buy some single use motors. Aerotech makes E, F, and G power. they are more expensive than reloadables but they are available and they will give you a taste of mid-power ... and things will not be the same after that!!! enjoy!

by the way, which Aerotech rocket kit do you have?
 

shinbone

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2004
Messages
110
Reaction score
0
Does anyone make a single-use H?
Seems like that would be a good option for a L1 cert flight, so a high-power newbie wouldn't have to sweat an RMS.
 

solrules

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2003
Messages
366
Reaction score
0
As I recall, AT had a few out. They were 'special' motors and were made only twice a year, and were only shipped out to authorized AT dealers. Needless to say, after the fire, these were nowhere to be found. It will probably be the last thing AT gets back into production as well. You can always try the Ellis Mountain site for SU H-I motors for 29mm. Much, much cheaper than AT's btw.
 

shinbone

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2004
Messages
110
Reaction score
0
Thanks, guys. My project has been on the bench since the fire, so I guess it's time to finish 'er up and try for L1.
A little more epoxy and some paint, and away we go!
 
Top