Quantcast

Raven 4 battery choice

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

Cameron Anderson

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2018
Messages
756
Reaction score
328
Location
Reno, NV
First flight with a Raven 4 and space is at a premium...manual says 3.7 lipo is okay, but I generally prefer more voltage. 7.4v lipo won't fit and 9v is impossible unless the rocket wears it as a hat.

Any good or bad 3.7 Lipo Raven 4 experiences? I'm building my electronics sled right now and I'm pulling my hair out.
 

Cameron Anderson

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2018
Messages
756
Reaction score
328
Location
Reno, NV
I like that battery.

Im guessing you'd recommend the perch? I didn't dislike it when I saw it, but if it's worth the utility, I might have to get it for future use.

Im flying a Wildman Mach 2 and trying to fit a Raven 4, T3 GPS, RRC 2, 2 switches, one 9v, and two 3.7 lipid in an av bay just over 5" long. It's an exercise in organization to be sure.
 

Cameron Anderson

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2018
Messages
756
Reaction score
328
Location
Reno, NV
Also pretty cool. I have a simple wiring harness for this airframe to really reduce size. But I will probably fab up a small connector set in the future for larger rockets.
 

Buckeye

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
2,606
Reaction score
460
I like that battery.

Im guessing you'd recommend the perch? I didn't dislike it when I saw it, but if it's worth the utility, I might have to get it for future use.

Im flying a Wildman Mach 2 and trying to fit a Raven 4, T3 GPS, RRC 2, 2 switches, one 9v, and two 3.7 lipid in an av bay just over 5" long. It's an exercise in organization to be sure.
The 3.7V LiPo mentioned by timbucktoo powers the Raven 3 and PowerPerch just fine, so I imagine it will perform just as well on the Raven 4.

Ditch the RRC2 and its 9V battery. You have 4 output channels on the Raven, if you are worried about backup deployment.

Post some pics of your ebay setup when you are done. I have a Mach 2 on the build pile and looking for ebay ideas.
 

Cameron Anderson

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2018
Messages
756
Reaction score
328
Location
Reno, NV
I like having 2 seperate altimeters for redundancy, hence the RRC2. I need a stratologger for this though.

One 3.7 lipo is taped in top of the 9v, the other is shoved to the side of the Raven 4...still working in brackets for them. No brass tubes glued yet either for the allthread that will hold everything together. Braas will go on T3 side. And I need to wire up my Raven wiring harness and switches still. They will be pull-to-arm spring lever switches.
 

Attachments

manixFan

Not a rocket scientist
Joined
Feb 15, 2009
Messages
1,967
Reaction score
948
Location
TX
Don't forget that the Power Perch is drilled for a Raven 3 and the Raven 4 has a different hole spacing. I don't know if Adrian has updated the power Perch hole pattern.
I don't understand what you mean by this. There aren't any holes on the PowerPerch unique to either the Raven 3 or 4. The altimeter connects to a header on the PP, and the terminal block on the 3 and 4 is identical. The mounting holes for the Raven 3 and 4 are different though. But the PP is compatible with either model of the Raven.

I have flown many flights with the small Lipo batteries used with the PP (and in his small diameter AV bays) without issue. I did some testing early on and after leaving the Raven on for an hour I was able to fire all 4 e-matches without issue. As with many of these altimeters, you have to make sure your battery won't source more current than the outputs can handle. Hence the smaller capacity cells for the Lipo batteries. I also use Strataloggers and they have the same issue.


Tony
 

Cameron Anderson

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2018
Messages
756
Reaction score
328
Location
Reno, NV
That's good to know Tony. I was wary about a long wait before flight and having sufficient juice to pop the e-matches.
 

Adrian A

Sponsor
TRF Sponsor
TRF Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
2,317
Reaction score
289
I don't understand what you mean by this. There aren't any holes on the PowerPerch unique to either the Raven 3 or 4. The altimeter connects to a header on the PP, and the terminal block on the 3 and 4 is identical. The mounting holes for the Raven 3 and 4 are different though. But the PP is compatible with either model of the Raven.

I have flown many flights with the small Lipo batteries used with the PP (and in his small diameter AV bays) without issue. I did some testing early on and after leaving the Raven on for an hour I was able to fire all 4 e-matches without issue. As with many of these altimeters, you have to make sure your battery won't source more current than the outputs can handle. Hence the smaller capacity cells for the Lipo batteries. I also use Strataloggers and they have the same issue.


Tony
Thanks. Tony. I couldn’t have said it better myself.
 
Top