Rail button placement

qquake2k

Captain Low-N-Slow
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
13,574
Reaction score
45
I have wanted to do a design like this for a while now. I've ordered the components, and will be starting a build thread soon. I was originally going to place the rail buttons on the aft narrow section, with standoffs. But I got to thinking, there will be centering rings in the wide section. Why couldn't I attach them there? Anybody see any problems with this?

side view.jpg

3D Finished.jpg

View attachment Tube Fly With Fire03.ork
 

Flyfalcons

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2015
Messages
2,572
Reaction score
861
It'll be fine, you'll lose a little bit of usable rail since your buttons will be up higher to start with but it looks like it would just be a foot or so.
 

LithosphereRocketry

Pining for the Fjords
Joined
Feb 19, 2017
Messages
841
Reaction score
67
If it were me I would put one on each... That will be the most stable configuration by far. It's probably overkill though. If you're against lower tube buttons, the configuration you have is fine.

Looking forward to the build!:pop:
 

jdbwizzard

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
72
Reaction score
1
I built a Photon Disruptor upscale with a crayon bank. I did the same thing and it has flown great so far.
 

ECayemberg

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
2,752
Reaction score
464
Yep, you'll be good. Just flew a big 7.67" bird last weekend with similar rail placement...worked great! Wouldn't hurt to space them apart a bit farther, but looks good!
 

qquake2k

Captain Low-N-Slow
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
13,574
Reaction score
45
Thanks Guys. I figured it would be okay, just wanted to make sure I wasn't missing something.
 
Top