3D Printing Questions from an absolute beginner

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cvanc

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
Hi all-

I want to get into using an external printhouse to print from files I create. I'm beginning with a simple piece that is small (less than 2"). This brings me to 2 'total rookie' questions:

1) For simple beginner level file generation, what software do you recommend?
2) I've heard of shapeways; are there other similar companies? Any of them anywhere near me (Chicago)? Would love to know who the good companies are.

Many thanks!

1) https://www.tinkercad.com/ - free and incredibly simple to learn
2) https://craftcloud3d.com/ (or you might get a friendly offer from a fellow forum member to print it). Most 3D printing services will let you upload your STL file and they'll quote it. So you can shop around. Usually, setup is the biggest expense for a small part, so there's a lot of cost overhead in printing one copy of a thing. That can vary a lot between services.

I have used Fictiv a couple times for very high quality prints to be used as masters for resin casting. At the time they were cheaper than Shapeways, but it's been several years. Parts arrived in just a couple days from one of their network members in NYC. I would use them again if I needed something with higher precision than a current typical resin printer can do (at the time DLP/SLA printers were nowhere near as cheap or common as they are now).