Questions about separate parachute for nosecone assembly Estes Longship

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bill S

Reaction score
I've got an Estes Longship that the nosecone keeps on hitting the rear fins, and someone suggested attaching a separate parachute for the nosecone and letting it come down on its own. I have never done this before, so I have some questions:

1) How large of a parachute should I use on the nosecone? Its 1.32 oz and is 9" long or so. I was thinking a 9" or 12" cheapo Estes parachute attached to the base of the nosecone?

2) There currently is 4' of #100 kevlar and 4' of 1/4" cotton swimsuit elastic attached to the rocket. If the nosecone isn't attached, and there is less (none?) need to slow down the nosecone, etc, how long of a shockcord should the rocket be using between the body and main parachute?

3) I imagine that one would pack the main parachute as usual, then put the smaller parachute+nosecone on top of that. Is this correct? Any benefit in putting say a sheet of wadding between the two parachutes to minimize tangling of lines, etc?

Antares, thanks. :) I don't think he addressed the length of shock cord needed question, but I only did a quick skim of the article, since I have to go to an appt now. :)

I don't want to give you a number as I don't own a Longship, but I would think your shock cord won't need to be as long without a significant mass on the other end of it. Though the shock cord you described already seems really excessive to me.

Perhaps the nosecone could get by with a streamer? Or even just freefall?

Perhaps the nosecone could get by with a streamer? Or even just freefall?
The nosecone has decals on it, etc, so freefall or streamer would probably result in damage to them.