Quality of rocket decals out of the box...

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ewomack

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
I'm not sure where to post this question, but since I'm still a beginner I thought I would include it with all of my other beginner questions.

I built an Estes Black Brant III but I did not put the decals on. I wanted to wait until it flew and survived to go through the extra effort. It has now flown well with a "B" engine and I would like to put on the decals.

Has anyone here put the decals for the Black Brant III on directly without layering? They involve a white on red combination that could likely result in a pinkish tone without an under layer.

I came across this subject in a blog post from 2014 by a modeler building a Black Brant III when it was out of print: https://modelrocketbuilding.blogspot.com/2014/09/estes-black-brant-iii-part-15-decal-fix.html. The blog relates how the white decals "bled through" red and didn't look exactly wonderful, so he layered them.

Do Estes decals typically have enough thickness to prevent this? Or is layering recommended? The stickers for the Alpha III I assembled (it came in a launch kit I purchased) definitely have a "thin sticker" look and the black bleeds through the orange. I'd like to avoid this for the Black Brant III.

As always, thank you!!

Meh, depends on how picky you are. The white is a bit translucent. I've attached pictures of mine. Note the area in front of "National" where the two white decals overlap.
It doesn't really bother me but if I wanted to correct that I would use white decal paper (instead of clear) and trim to shape and use it as an under layer. In other words a double decal. Relatively fast and easy.
For me, it's not worth my time.

0811190822.jpg 0811190823.jpg 0811190826.jpg 0811190828.jpg

BTW it's an excellent flyer.
Cheers.