3D Printing Prusa Mods

Discussion in '3-D Printing and Related topics' started by mpitfield, Jan 13, 2019.

Help Support The Rocketry Forum by donating:

  1. Jan 13, 2019 #1

    mpitfield

    mpitfield

    mpitfield

    Lifetime Supporter Staff Member TRF Lifetime Supporter Global Mod

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    4,162
    Likes Received:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    I have been seeing replacement anodized aluminium parts for the Prusa MK3 printer stock PETG parts online, but the price is typically a bit steep and I couldn't find any reviews. A couple weeks ago I found some Y axis parts at a reasonable price and thought I would take a chance. They arrived a few days ago and I have to say the fit and quality is really excellent.

    I am now replacing the Z axis PETG brackets and will likely replace the X brackets as well. This is simply motivated by mitigating points of failure as well as generally stiffening up the frame and all axis in order to get as good a print as the technology can deliver.

    For anyone interested in the Y axis upgrades the sellers name is WillBest on Amazon. For the Z axis I ended up ordering the parts from two other Amazon sellers, GIMAX and KIMME SHOP, although I have not received the parts so I can't say whether the quality is as good as the ones from WillBest.

    IMG_20190109_134446.jpeg
     
  2. Jan 15, 2019 #2

    curtisheisey

    curtisheisey

    curtisheisey

    Forum Supporter TRF Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    13
    More recommended Prusa upgrades.

    1) Copper heat block (E3D v6) purchased through filastruder https://www.filastruder.com/collections/e3d-spare-parts-and-accessories/products/e3d-heater-block-v6.

    2) Also, the PT100 temp sensor and amplifier from there, which is more accurate and can read higher temps (aka nylon). It takes some electronics knowledge to install. You need to tap 5V off the rambo board. Also, you need to rebuild the firmware. Download the code from github. Uncomment one #define and rebuild. I did on linux, and all it required was running a script that was in the repo.
     
  3. Jan 15, 2019 #3

    mpitfield

    mpitfield

    mpitfield

    Lifetime Supporter Staff Member TRF Lifetime Supporter Global Mod

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    4,162
    Likes Received:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Well this is timely. My printer is apart to replace the back of the extruder body that failed on the two bottom screws. While inspecting everything I noticed a big deposit of melted filament on top of the heat block. It seems that the leak that I discovered and "fixed" a couple of weeks ago wasn't fixed.

    Now that I have had some time to research how to assemble the V6 I figured out what I was doing wrong. I found the following very thorough guide on how-to assemble the E3D V6 https://www.matterhackers.com/articles/how-to-assemble-an-e3d-v6-all-metal-hotend. Also here is the official one on the E3D site https://wiki.e3d-online.com/E3D-v6_Assembly

    I also ended up ordering some replacement parts for the V6 but this upgrade looks very reasonable.

    I think I might rename this thread to Prusa upgrades.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2019
  4. Jan 15, 2019 #4

    cwbullet

    cwbullet

    cwbullet

    Obsessed with Rocketry Staff Member Administrator TRF Lifetime Supporter Global Mod

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    20,964
    Likes Received:
    903
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Glennville, GA
    I like the copper block.

    I also have started using the silicone socks. There keep the hotend clean.
     
  5. Jan 15, 2019 #5

    mpitfield

    mpitfield

    mpitfield

    Lifetime Supporter Staff Member TRF Lifetime Supporter Global Mod

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    4,162
    Likes Received:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    The silicone sock was one of the things that I ordered when ordering the spare parts. It made a lot of send to me that it would not only provide some insulating properties but also make cleaning up much easier. I can see these socks breaking down and becoming brittle after a while.
     
  6. Jan 15, 2019 #6

    Locksmith

    Locksmith

    Locksmith

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    21
    +1 on the silicones sock if you ever get the blob of death it will save your hot end. We put them on all are 3d printers
    Not sure if the aluminum parts would help but hey can't hurt. I have the moons extruder and the mmu2 on my personal mk3 and am putting the new bondtech extruder on one of the mk3s at the local maker space.
     
  7. Jan 15, 2019 #7

    mpitfield

    mpitfield

    mpitfield

    Lifetime Supporter Staff Member TRF Lifetime Supporter Global Mod

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    4,162
    Likes Received:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
  8. Jan 18, 2019 #8

    curtisheisey

    curtisheisey

    curtisheisey

    Forum Supporter TRF Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    13
    Michael, also note that the E3D V6 heat break is different than the one use for Prusa. On the filasturder website, there is a special Prusa one https://www.filastruder.com/collect...accessories/products/prusa-specific-e3d-parts. I don't understand what the difference is, or if the E3D V6 default heat break will work or won't work.

    Definitely use the sock in general for regular printing.

    I think the copper heat block, which conducts heat better, allows for more precise temp control. Also, running to 400C. However, don't use silicon sock at that high heat. And you probably need an enclosure with outside ventilation in that case, as there might be nasty outgassing.

    I had print quality and reliability issues when the room temp got too low (had it in the basement). Winter came along, 60 F ambient room temp, suddenly blobing, prints not sticking, layer shifting simultaneously in x and y, and general unreliability. I made an enclosure, installed copper heat block, changed to PT100 sensor, and I am getting the best prints ever (granted, I am not sure what all the cause and effects are with all the changes I made at once).
     
  9. Jan 18, 2019 #9

    mpitfield

    mpitfield

    mpitfield

    Lifetime Supporter Staff Member TRF Lifetime Supporter Global Mod

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    4,162
    Likes Received:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Thanks for the followup. I read that on Filastruder's site when I ordered my PT100, Copper heat block and Capricorn PTFE tubing. They explain the difference in the product description "Heatbreaks are like standard v6 heartbreaks, but have a slightly different internal geometry to facilitate Multi Material prints."

    BTW I also ordered the Full Bear frame upgrade, the latest Bondtech extruder as well as the Moons stepper for the extruder.

    As far as the enclosure I am in the process of building one that has a full temperature humidity and smoke detector touch screen LCD that also controls the built in LCD lights and filament humidity controlled integrated storage.
     
  10. Jan 18, 2019 #10

    cwbullet

    cwbullet

    cwbullet

    Obsessed with Rocketry Staff Member Administrator TRF Lifetime Supporter Global Mod

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    20,964
    Likes Received:
    903
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Glennville, GA
  11. Jan 24, 2019 #11

    mpitfield

    mpitfield

    mpitfield

    Lifetime Supporter Staff Member TRF Lifetime Supporter Global Mod

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    4,162
    Likes Received:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Hi Curtis, My PT100 sensor and amplifier board arrived today, now I just need to install it. Do you have any links on the installation and setup for this on the Prusa?
     
  12. Jan 25, 2019 #12

    mpitfield

    mpitfield

    mpitfield

    Lifetime Supporter Staff Member TRF Lifetime Supporter Global Mod

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    4,162
    Likes Received:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
  13. Jan 26, 2019 #13

    curtisheisey

    curtisheisey

    curtisheisey

    Forum Supporter TRF Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    13
    PT100 install.

    First check the sensor. Should read around 105 ohms for room temp.


    Background
    https://blog.beamex.com/pt100-temperature-sensor

    FW rebuild.
    Download from https://github.com/prusa3d/Prusa-Firmware
    There are instructions on the git hub repo. I tried to build in the arduino IDE, but all kinds of junk text appeared on the screen when I installed the image. Built on linux, and it built and ran fine.
    Go to the "variants" folder in the repo. Copy "1_75mm_MK3-EINSy10a-E3Dv6full.h" up a directory to "Configuration_prusa.h". About 10 lines down, uncomment the line "define E3D_PT100_EXTRUDER_WITH_AMP" and rebuild the FW.



    PT100 install
    https://shop.prusa3d.com/forum/improvements-archive--f85/mini-rambo-1-3-and-e3d-with-pt100-t700.html
    https://e3d-online.dozuki.com/Wiki/E3D_PT100_Amplifier_Documentation
    https://www.reddit.com/r/prusa3d/comments/9infon/how_to_set_up_pt100_on_a_mk3/
    https://manual.prusa3d.com/Guide/8.+Electronics+assembly+(B3-R2+design)/513?lang=en

    You need to tap +5 off the motherboard. This can be from pin 1 of the open header above "Filament sensor header" (open, assuming you don't have MMU2). This is the fat blue wire with the clear heat shrink in the photo with my thumb. The signal and ground from the PT100 amp go into the thermister port.

    Message me if you have any issues/questions. I can post some photos if you like.

    I actually had an issue this week. Suddenly 1100 degrees C on the display. I checked the resistance, and 6Meg ohm. Filastruder said I may have over tightened it and crushed it. Sent a replacement under warranty, though.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 26, 2019
    mpitfield likes this.
  14. Jan 26, 2019 #14

    curtisheisey

    curtisheisey

    curtisheisey

    Forum Supporter TRF Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    13
    Mounted the PT100 amp board at the bottom with two short 4-40 standoffs.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Jan 27, 2019 #15

    mpitfield

    mpitfield

    mpitfield

    Lifetime Supporter Staff Member TRF Lifetime Supporter Global Mod

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    4,162
    Likes Received:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Some options for PT100 amplifier cases on Thingiverse https://www.thingiverse.com/search?q=pt100

    I have the Full Bear frame upgrade on the way, which has its own printed parts including a new Einsey case that I will try to modify to accept the PT100 amplifier.
     
  16. Feb 12, 2019 #16

    gorillamotors

    gorillamotors

    gorillamotors

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    8
    Here is my Prusa MK3 enclosure. Not quite done yet. A few more mods on it to go.

    Enclosure 1.jpg Enclosure 2.jpg
     
  17. Feb 13, 2019 #17

    mpitfield

    mpitfield

    mpitfield

    Lifetime Supporter Staff Member TRF Lifetime Supporter Global Mod

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    4,162
    Likes Received:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Prusa news, they released new firmware, Slic3r and the MK3S. Below is a list of differences:

    Firmware (MK3) 3.5.2:
    • Quieter print fan operation
    • Heatbed regulation improved - reduced the PSU clicking noise
    • Improved heater temperature regulation
    • Spool join for multi-material prints
    • Smarter load/unload function
    • SD card menu is shown automatically when the card is inserted
    • Safer communication between MMU2 and printer
    • Crash detection for zero target temperature fixed
    Hardware MK3S:
    • New IR filament Sensor: The previous sensor didn’t work well with some specific filaments. The new sensor is using the optical sensor which is triggered by a simple mechanical lever. This sensor doesn’t care about the optical properties of the filament (it can be completely invisible) and cannot die because of mechanical wear.
    • Easier Service: Thanks to completely reworked extruder you don’t have to take apart the whole extruder if you want to change the nozzle or PTFE tube. As a bonus, the nozzle and the extruder motor is much closer to the X axis, this means less resonance and better prints too. Better Y axis belt tensioning is just the icing on the cake.
    • Better Cooling: Thanks to the better design of the whole extruder, air flow is increased and as a result, cooling capabilities are improved. We have also focused on cooling of the the printed object and MK2.5S/MK3S is better for printing from flexible materials.

    MK3 to MK3S Upgrade package is available for $19.99 and it includes:
    • IR filament sensor + cable
    • PTFE tube
    • Fan-shroud-black
    • Bolts & fasteners
    • Textile sleeve
    • 300g Black PETG for self-printed parts
    Links:
     
    AeroAggie likes this.
  18. Feb 13, 2019 #18

    AeroAggie

    AeroAggie

    AeroAggie

    Forum Supporter TRF Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    I ordered a MK3 over the weekend, and it looks like my MK3S will be here tomorrow . I’m a big fan of making things stiffer for prettier quality, so a Bear upgrade is on my short wishlist. The others are TBD until I get some experience, and see if the power users out there deem the S deficient in new ways.
     
  19. Feb 13, 2019 #19

    curtisheisey

    curtisheisey

    curtisheisey

    Forum Supporter TRF Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    13
    Michael, thanks for posting info on the Prusa MK3S upgrade. I am impressed at how Prusa addresses pain points (like changing the nozzle). I am very interested in this.

    Would there be any interest in going in on a group order for the MK3S upgrades, e.g. one group member places an order to Prusa (probably $60 shipping) and then splits the order and sends the items to other group members domestic shipping. That we we all don't get hit with a $40-60 shipping charge.
     
  20. Feb 13, 2019 #20

    mpitfield

    mpitfield

    mpitfield

    Lifetime Supporter Staff Member TRF Lifetime Supporter Global Mod

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    4,162
    Likes Received:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Hi Curtis,

    I ordered my Prusa printer from a local Canadian reseller but since then I have placed several orders for Prusa PETG and the shipping has been reasonable, at least based on Canadian standards. You guys in the US have it made on shipping rates but I digress.

    Having said that I placed my order for the upgrade yesterday and the shipping wasn't that bad, it was $12.07 just for the upgrade. Proportionately it looks bad so I ended up adding some white PETG to the order just to make it worth while.
     
  21. Feb 13, 2019 #21

    Locksmith

    Locksmith

    Locksmith

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    21
    I get the MMU2s and MK3s upgrade free since I have a mmu2 but have to wait for the voucher to be sent. Personally I think the MK3s is a downgrade "IF AND ONLY IF" you have a working filament sensory. I own 1 and help maintain 2 others out of the 3 only 1 works perfectly so I understand there decision to go to more of a binary on off switch. But now you lose jam detection which was one of the big upgrades of the MK3 from MK2s. Not that big of a deal but still a downgrade for the 1 out of 3 here.
    Cool thing now though for those who like to upgrade or spice up there printers your extruder does not have to be black anymore. Sucks I only have Polycarbonate in black though :(
     
  22. Feb 13, 2019 #22

    curtisheisey

    curtisheisey

    curtisheisey

    Forum Supporter TRF Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    13
    My MK3 filament sensor stopped working, so the MK3S upgrade is welcome. Oh, I have a MMU2 so will get the voucher and free shipping for MK3S upgrade.
     
  23. Feb 13, 2019 #23

    Locksmith

    Locksmith

    Locksmith

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    21
    Yeah I'm in same boat I replaced my sensor twice already and finally just disabled it. So yes the upgrade is welcome here also looks like they made major stability improvements on the mmu2 so that will be nice!
     
  24. Feb 13, 2019 #24

    cwbullet

    cwbullet

    cwbullet

    Obsessed with Rocketry Staff Member Administrator TRF Lifetime Supporter Global Mod

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    20,964
    Likes Received:
    903
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Glennville, GA
    I just order the upgrade to go from I3 MK3 to MK3S.
     
    BryRocket likes this.
  25. Feb 14, 2019 #25

    BryRocket

    BryRocket

    BryRocket

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2017
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    26
    Me too. Also did a petg print with stock settings using the new slic3r at 0.15 slow and I have to say it’s a nice improvement over the older 0.15 setting.
     
  26. Feb 14, 2019 #26

    mpitfield

    mpitfield

    mpitfield

    Lifetime Supporter Staff Member TRF Lifetime Supporter Global Mod

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    4,162
    Likes Received:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    My filament sensor is working however I have been using clear PLA filament, which I love printing with, and it doesn't work too well with the optical sensor. I have to disable the sensor altogether when I print with clear. One thing I will need to deal with is I have the Bondtech extruder, which I recommend, and as it is does not work with the new filament sensor. I believe that they are working on or already have a modification that essentially moves the sensor outside the extruder...we will see. Bottom line I do not want to go away from the Bondtech.
     
  27. Feb 14, 2019 #27

    Ryan Gillette

    Ryan Gillette

    Ryan Gillette

    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    I just ordered the upgrade kit MKS3 kit also. Didnt even know about it before I read this so thanks.
    :)
     
  28. Feb 25, 2019 #28

    mpitfield

    mpitfield

    mpitfield

    Lifetime Supporter Staff Member TRF Lifetime Supporter Global Mod

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    4,162
    Likes Received:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
  29. Feb 27, 2019 #29

    BryRocket

    BryRocket

    BryRocket

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2017
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    26
    Completed the MK3->MK3S upgrade. Half way through it I was wondering why I decided to take apart my perfectly functioning printer but after a handful of hours we’re all calibrated and printing again. Don’t forget to update to the MK3S firmware and get the Slic3r MK3S profiles if you make the changes. Seems to print...as good as it did before. I did take the opportunity to add a hardened steel nozzle so that should be nice.
     
  30. Feb 27, 2019 #30

    BryRocket

    BryRocket

    BryRocket

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2017
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    26
    Also, does anyone know how to run another first layer cal but have the setting be 0.00 to start? When using my textured sheet I run around -0.625 but the smooth sheet it’s closer to -0.260. When I switch and run the first layer cal, it immediately jams into the sheet before I can back it off. Any thoughts on that?
     

Share This Page