3D Printing Printing a trapezoidal fin can in one piece?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dbrent

Reaction score
I am in the process of working up a fin can in Sketchup that has trapezoidal fins (5 deg sweep on leading and trailing edges) AND a diamond shaped airfoil. I'm not really seeing how this can be printed in one piece but I'm just learning so I could be wrong.

The diamond shaped airfoil is probably fine because the wedge is a very shallow angle and the leading (top) edge obviously won't be a problem but I'm thinking the 5 degree trailing trapezoidal fin edge will be a problem since the edge would be up off of the print bed at a 5 degree angle. Is this an example where supports would be used? How do I know how many and how far apart they would need to be? What do they look like?

I'm waaaaaay out over my skis on this but I thought it would be a fun project to learn with. My printer won't be here for about 3 weeks anyway so I have some time to learn a little bit about the design phase.

If you have a good slicer then it should do the supports where needed. I have noticed Cura get better and better with the support generation over the past couple of years. It puts them in where needed and they are super easy to strip out, and they come off with almost no degradation to the part.

Again, I'm a total noob at this so forgive me if this sounds like a naive question but...

Since the trailing edge is going to be pretty thin due to the airfoil, is that going to make removing any support material from it kind of tricky to do without damaging the edge?

dbrent -
The biggest thing I have come to learn with 3d printing is tradeoffs. I will generally go out of my way in the design to eliminate as much support material as feasible.