Quantcast

posting word documents

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

rocketsonly

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2004
Messages
877
Reaction score
0
Hey all, how do you post a word document? Is it not possible?
 

KermieD

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2009
Messages
3,000
Reaction score
1
I don't think Word docs are available to post to the forum. Text files are okay though.
 

DynaSoar

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2004
Messages
3,007
Reaction score
0
Originally posted by rocketsonly
Hey all, how do you post a word document? Is it not possible?
If you pasted the contents (visible AND invisible) of a Word file into the posting widget, either it would ignore the invisible formatting stuff, or it wouldn't and being non-HTML compliant, they might break stuff.

You can post the entire text content of a word file by opening it, selecting all in it (control+A), copying it to clipboard (control+C) and pasting it (control+V) into the window where you normally type stuff in for posting.
 

jflis

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
15,353
Reaction score
34
You wouldn't want to set the forum up to accept word doc's. Too easy to pass on a virus that way.

I've never checked, but if the forum accepts pdf files, you could convert it. pdf files are safe.

jim
 

Silverleaf

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2003
Messages
1,124
Reaction score
0
So, why not zip it up and post it that way ?

Just a thought, 8)
 

solrules

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2003
Messages
363
Reaction score
0
Originally posted by jflis
You wouldn't want to set the forum up to accept word doc's. Too easy to pass on a virus that way.

I've never checked, but if the forum accepts pdf files, you could convert it. pdf files are safe.

jim
Ive got myself a nice virtual 'PDF Printer' on the labtop. Acts just like a printer, only it 'prints' to a PDF file. Very useful to keep all the formatting (and so people can't change your writing!). Pretty much universal, unlike Word Documents. I have been looking for the software for the printer for a while, but I can't seem to find it....maybe it is some option in Acrobat Reader. :confused:
 

Latest posts

Top