Pointers for learning Fusion 360?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Adrian A

TRF Sponsor
TRF Supporter
Reaction score
I’m a newbie again when it comes to CAD. I already have an Autodesk Fusion 360 subscription that came with my Eagle circuit board design software, and it sounds like it has a competitive combination of capability and ease of use, so I’d like to start eith that. I used a variety of 3D modeling and simulation tools in the early 90s, and dabbled in TurboCAD in the early 2000s, but I haven’t done any 3D modeling work since. Does anyone have a recommendation for tutorials or YouTube videos to get me up to speed, or should I just grope my way through it? I’m planning to 3D print nosecones, dissolvable nosecone mandrels, tooling jigs, and av-bay related parts.

Some things I’m wondering about are how to design supports and how much control or options I have for low-density volume fills. How much is done in the slicer software? How are materials changes for dissolvable supports specified?

I'm a regular user of CAD for work and have been using programs like Revit, AutoCAD, 3D Studio, and Rhino for some time. With that, I really just jumped into Fusion and groped around until I learned it. For me, this is the best way to learn new applications. The concepts are fairly universal though the interface is quite different from the other Autodesk offerings I've used.
I might recommend starting with Autodesk's initial tutorials.
https://help.autodesk.com/view/fusion360/ENU/courses/Since you have some CAD experience, this may give you enough to just dive right in and feel your away around.

Adrian,
Fusion is a full parametric solid modelling program.
Arguably the most powerful aspect of parametric design is the sketch, utilizing constraints.