Quantcast

Perfectflite Software for Mac

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

scschulte

Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2020
Messages
16
Reaction score
11
I've been trying to get an upgraded version of Perfecflite Data software for Mac. The current 2017 version is 32 bit and all Macs running 10.15 Catalina and 10.16 Big Sur (coming-out in Oct 2020) need 64 bit programs. I've been writing to Perfectflite since July this year to inquire about an update-- but no reply. If anyone knows anything here, please reply! Thanks very much! Steve Monday 28 September 2020
 

scschulte

Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2020
Messages
16
Reaction score
11
Some additional information: This is for my StratoLoggerCF altimeters. Perfectflite Datacap orks great on a Mac running 10.14.6 (Mojave) or earlier, but being 32 bit it will not run on Macs running 10.15 and later. Thanks, Steve
 

roytyson

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2017
Messages
269
Reaction score
119
I have the same issue. I emailed them 4 times, not a single response. I finally bought a $99 referb windows desktop from Amazon for this and a couple of other things I need windows for (3D printing). Extremely disappointed they have not been able to update the software. I think there are some personal issues that have kept production limited for them.
 

scschulte

Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2020
Messages
16
Reaction score
11
Thanks for your reply, roytyson. I heard from the owner of Perfectflite directly in mid-July that there had been some personal issues so I held-off writing until mid-Sept this year. But really nothing so I may try to telephone them. I also have a missileworks altimeter but believe they only have Windows software - nothing for Mac. And mine is an RRC2 -- I don't think that has a data-out port, you have to have an RRC3 to download data… I THINK - I'm not 100% sure of this.

I'll post back if I learn anything and hope someone hears back from PerfectFlite with some news & posts here. I have had so much positive successful flights with my StratoLoggerCF -- including the 25th flight of my PML Belgian Flag Endeavour - now extended to about 93" tall and 10 lbs in weight. First flight was Oct 2009 -- here's a link to the on-board camera video of Flight 25 (hope I'm not going too much off-topic here!): https://www.sugarsync.com/pf/D3372136_09724200_798582

Steve on Monday 28 September 2020
 

scschulte

Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2020
Messages
16
Reaction score
11
Well it seems there are just 2 of us with this issue. I thought a lot of people used the Stratologger CF but perhaps all users are on Windows… I'll try to reach Perfectflite on the phone later today, Wednesday 30 September 2020. I don't think this is a top priority for them however…

Wednesday 30 September 2020 Steve
 

rocketgeek101

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2011
Messages
2,284
Reaction score
50
Location
Eastern Canada
Mac user here. All intel Macs can run Windows via Bootcamp or with a VM. I've used both methods to run the MissileWorks Windows only software for the RRC3. It's not ideal, but it gets the job done. I would assume the same would work for the Pefectflight software. You don't even need to purchase a Windows licence. You can install Windows without a license and it will run fine. It just restricts you from being able to customize the theme, and will display a warning on the screen that you can't get rid of, but none of the actual functionality of the OS is lost.
 

cwbullet

Obsessed with Rocketry
Staff member
Administrator
TRF Lifetime Supporter
Global Mod
Joined
Jan 24, 2009
Messages
25,706
Reaction score
3,467
Location
Glennville, GA
No, I would prefer a Mac product.
 

scschulte

Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2020
Messages
16
Reaction score
11
Mac user here. All intel Macs can run Windows via Bootcamp or with a VM. I've used both methods to run the MissileWorks Windows only software for the RRC3. It's not ideal, but it gets the job done. I would assume the same would work for the Pefectflight software. You don't even need to purchase a Windows licence. You can install Windows without a license and it will run fine. It just restricts you from being able to customize the theme, and will display a warning on the screen that you can't get rid of, but none of the actual functionality of the OS is lost.
Thanks VERY MUCH!! I had been looking into doing that via Bootcamp but was not certain where to get a copy of Windows to use on Bootcamp -- any information on that much appreciated! Wait, I found a site-- not sure if I need Windows 10 "32 bit" or Windows 10 "64 bit" so I've downloaded both. Now to get Bootcamp running - I haven't used that in years……… I see Bootcamp Assistant in my utilities folder on my Mac Mini-2018 model -- I think I can (hopefully) figure out how to install it on a ?? (20 gb? 30 gb??) partition… Let's see! Thanks again!

Sure I think we'd all prefer having Mac Apps for Perfectflite and MissileWorks -- but Bootcamp could be the answer here. Really appreciate it.

BTW: I did call Perfectflite-- it went right to voice-mail and within 10 seconds before I could say much the call was dropped. So I'm not going to call again right now-- I think they are busy with some other more important issues.

Regards,

Steve on Wednesday 30 September 2020
 

rocketgeek101

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2011
Messages
2,284
Reaction score
50
Location
Eastern Canada
Thanks VERY MUCH!! I had been looking into doing that via Bootcamp but was not certain where to get a copy of Windows to use on Bootcamp -- any information on that much appreciated! Wait, I found a site-- not sure if I need Windows 10 "32 bit" or Windows 10 "64 bit" so I've downloaded both. Now to get Bootcamp running - I haven't used that in years……… I see Bootcamp Assistant in my utilities folder on my Mac Mini-2018 model -- I think I can (hopefully) figure out how to install it on a ?? (20 gb? 30 gb??) partition… Let's see! Thanks again!

Sure I think we'd all prefer having Mac Apps for Perfectflite and MissileWorks -- but Bootcamp could be the answer here. Really appreciate it.

BTW: I did call Perfectflite-- it went right to voice-mail and within 10 seconds before I could say much the call was dropped. So I'm not going to call again right now-- I think they are busy with some other more important issues.

Regards,

Steve on Wednesday 30 September 2020
Sounds like you are on the right track. You want an ISO file. Incase that is not what you've downloaded, you can download the Windows 10 ISO file from here: https://www.microsoft.com/en-ca/software-download/windows10ISO

You'll be wanting the 64 bit version. Just follow the instructions provided by the Bootcamp installer. I would recommend 45-50 GB minimum. Once installed, you'll likely have to do the initial Windows 10 setup without connecting to your internet. Once you've finished initial setup, a utility should automatically launch to install the necessary drivers for Windows to be able to use the wifi card and provide support for using the Apple accessories etc.
 
Last edited:

manixFan

Not a rocket scientist
Joined
Feb 15, 2009
Messages
1,882
Reaction score
856
Location
TX
I use Bootcamp at my training company so I'm very familiar with it. It allows me to train students on either Mac or Windows OS without having to have 2 computers. However, having to reboot to run a very simple rocket utility is a huge PITA. Not to mention you lose a significant amount of disk space and now have to deal with Windows updates, whether you want to or not. (Unless you are willing to jump through yet another set of hoops.) Honestly, a better solution would be to find an unused Windows laptop from a friend or family member and use that. It could literally be running Windows XP and would be fine (as long as you don't use it for anything else).

Of course the real answer is to get vendors to update their software to be compatible with modern OS'es. And it would be even better if all vendors had both Mac and Windows software.


Tony
 

rocketgeek101

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2011
Messages
2,284
Reaction score
50
Location
Eastern Canada
I use Bootcamp at my training company so I'm very familiar with it. It allows me to train students on either Mac or Windows OS without having to have 2 computers. However, having to reboot to run a very simple rocket utility is a huge PITA. Not to mention you lose a significant amount of disk space and now have to deal with Windows updates, whether you want to or not. (Unless you are willing to jump through yet another set of hoops.) Honestly, a better solution would be to find an unused Windows laptop from a friend or family member and use that. It could literally be running Windows XP and would be fine (as long as you don't use it for anything else).

Of course the real answer is to get vendors to update their software to be compatible with modern OS'es. And it would be even better if all vendors had both Mac and Windows software.


Tony
Agreed. I'd say for small programs like these rocket utilities though, the best current solution is to use a Windows VM. I use Parallels, and it has something called coherence mode that allows me to use Windows apps on my Mac desktop (and things like copy/paste work seamlessly between the Windows and Mac apps). You can also have the VM installed on an external drive so it doesn't eat into your internal disk space. Only thing is Parallels is a bit pricy, but I use it for school so that is why I have it. Performance is decent even on my 2015 dual core i5 MacBook pro.

With Apple soon to transition to their own silicon architecture, VMs will soon be the only option. Hopefully this will give incentive to developers to create a dedicated Mac app (but I'm not holding my breath).
 

cwbullet

Obsessed with Rocketry
Staff member
Administrator
TRF Lifetime Supporter
Global Mod
Joined
Jan 24, 2009
Messages
25,706
Reaction score
3,467
Location
Glennville, GA
I will tell you that virtualization might be on its last leg on the MAC. The next generation due this winter will not operate on an Intel processor.
 

manixFan

Not a rocket scientist
Joined
Feb 15, 2009
Messages
1,882
Reaction score
856
Location
TX
I will tell you that virtualization might be on its last leg on the MAC. The next generation due this winter will not operate on an Intel processor.
While Apple is introducing their own silicon, Intel Macs aren't going away - I expect my 2018 MacBook Pro to last many years and it has an Intel processor. And it is likely that Apple will continue with Intel processors along side its in-house silicon for a number of years. From the Apple announcement: "Apple will continue to support and release new versions of macOS for Intel-based Macs for years to come, and has exciting new Intel-based Macs in development." And of course Bootcamp isn't virtualization, it's running Windows natively on the hardware.

But more importantly, Apple has already stated Parallels, one of the companies that makes virtualization software for the Mac, is already at work on a version that will run on the new silicon:


Microsoft also has an ARM based version of Windows 10, so it is possible.

But still, the real answer is vendors need to keep their software updated or not advertise that they have a MacOS version available.


Tony
 
Last edited:

cwbullet

Obsessed with Rocketry
Staff member
Administrator
TRF Lifetime Supporter
Global Mod
Joined
Jan 24, 2009
Messages
25,706
Reaction score
3,467
Location
Glennville, GA
While Apple is introducing their own silicon, Intel Macs aren't going away - I expect my 2018 MacBook Pro to last many years and it has an Intel processor. And it is likely that Apple will continue with Intel processors along side its in-house silicon for a number of years. From the Apple announcement: "Apple will continue to support and release new versions of macOS for Intel-based Macs for years to come, and has exciting new Intel-based Macs in development." And of course Bootcamp isn't virtualization, it's running Windows natively on the hardware.

But more importantly, Apple has already stated Parallels, one of the companies that makes virtualization software for the Mac, is already at work on a version that will run on the new silicon:


Microsoft also has an ARM based version of Windows 10, so it is possible.

But still, the real answer is vendors need to keep their software updated or not advertise that they have a MacOS version available.


Tony
That is good news. I just bought a new mac.
 

mooffle

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Apr 20, 2020
Messages
142
Reaction score
86
If windows updates are an issue then run windows 7 in the VM. Since it is end of life updates are few and far between. As long as you are careful what you do in it there really isn't much of a security concern.

On the whole ARM transition I would be surprised if the mac pro got the new chipset anytime soon, power users will still likely need to run virtualised software. For that reason alone I think Apple will support it for quite a while.

*this post was written on a beige g3 powermac*
 

BEC

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
3,250
Reaction score
317
Location
Auburn, WA
The issue with the PerfectFlite software is that it's 32 bit, and Apple stopped supporting 32-bit applications two major OS revisions ago, after warning that it was coming for one or two more.

As has been noted with the supply of hardware, it seems things are kind of tenuous at PerfectFlite, which explains why updating the application (and I have no idea how hard or easy it would be to create a 64-bit version of the existing software) hasn't been a priority. I do wish they would do the update, though.

I need to look more closely at virtualization, but I do have a cheap Windows 10 laptop I use for hobby stuff. At least PerfectFlite (and Altus Metrum) have offered Mac options.
 

scschulte

Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2020
Messages
16
Reaction score
11
Thanks for all the information, everyone! As a "MacOnly since 1989" kinda guy I certainly have run a few windows computers in my time and even DOS on 8" floppies in 1983… (And floppy they were!) -- but I hope PerfectFlite can update to 64-bit --- wishing them well and really think their altimeters are great!

Steve on Monday 12 October 2020
 
Top