OSX Catalina dropping 32 bit app support

Discussion in 'Rocketry Electronics and Software' started by Ian A Dalton, Oct 8, 2019.

Help Support The Rocketry Forum by donating:

  1. Oct 8, 2019 #1

    Ian A Dalton

    Ian A Dalton

    Ian A Dalton

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2019
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    36
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Henderson, NV
  2. Oct 9, 2019 #2

    dpower

    dpower

    dpower

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,114
    Likes Received:
    23
    Bummer! Hopefully Rocksim will be updated, but it may take a while - IIRC they contract that work out. I'm still on High Sierra (10.13), last time I attempted to upgrade to Mojave (10.14), WiFi wouldn't work, so I restored back.
     
  3. Oct 9, 2019 #3

    manixFan

    manixFan

    manixFan

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    238
    The Perfectflite Datacap application is only 32 bit. OpenMotor and OpenRocket are 64 bit, as is OpenSCAD. An easy way to check your system:

    • Apple Menu > About This Mac > click System Report
    • Once generated, click Applications under Software
    • then sort by 64 bit (right most column, just click on '64-bit')
    • 32 bit apps will be listed at the top (will say No)

    I have a Windows laptop that will run the Datacap app so not a huge deal, but it would be great to get an updated version. That and a Mac version of the Featherweight altimeter software.


    Tony
     
  4. Oct 9, 2019 #4

    mpitfield

    mpitfield

    mpitfield

    Lifetime Supporter Staff Member TRF Lifetime Supporter Global Mod

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    4,446
    Likes Received:
    211
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Don't upgrade.
     
  5. Oct 9, 2019 #5

    manixFan

    manixFan

    manixFan

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    238
    For me the compelling feature is Sidecar - the ability to use an iPad as an extended display. I do a lot of Photoshop and Illustrator and the ability to use my iPad Pro with the Pencil as a second display is pretty compelling for me. I've tried several 3rd party utilities but none have really done all that I wanted. Sidecar looks to be very capable, allowing the iPad to be either a second display or work surface. But I will make a full backup to an external drive in case things don't work out so I can revert back to the old OS.


    Tony
     
  6. Oct 9, 2019 #6

    Arsenal78

    Arsenal78

    Arsenal78

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2018
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    51
    If Apogee would update the damn software it wouldn’t happen. For the outrageous price they’re asking for it, I’d expect some updates such as 64 bit.
     
  7. Oct 9, 2019 #7

    cwbullet

    cwbullet

    cwbullet

    Obsessed with Rocketry Staff Member Administrator TRF Lifetime Supporter Global Mod

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    22,100
    Likes Received:
    1,245
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Glennville, GA
    And I can't stand their serial number process.
     
  8. Oct 9, 2019 #8

    afadeev

    afadeev

    afadeev

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    129
    Apogee doesn't update Rocksim, they just mark up, and resell it.
    Rocksim was written and is maintained by Paul Fossey, though you wont find his credits on Apogee's web site.
    https://www.linkedin.com/in/paul-fossey-658575b/

    a
     
  9. Oct 9, 2019 #9

    cwbullet

    cwbullet

    cwbullet

    Obsessed with Rocketry Staff Member Administrator TRF Lifetime Supporter Global Mod

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    22,100
    Likes Received:
    1,245
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Glennville, GA
    Either way, it is in a bad need of an update.
     
  10. Oct 10, 2019 #10

    mpitfield

    mpitfield

    mpitfield

    Lifetime Supporter Staff Member TRF Lifetime Supporter Global Mod

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    4,446
    Likes Received:
    211
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    That sounds like a compelling reason for you to upgrade. One way of running 32bit apps in Catalina would be to install something like VMware Fusion and run a copy of Mojave to run your 32bit apps. I had VMware Fusion running on my MacBook Air 2010 running a virtual Windows 7 Pro 32 bit machine. I can't recall the macOS version, I think it was Snow Leopard, but it worked very well.
     

Share This Page