OpenRocket: packaged installers for Windows and Mac to solve all your Java problems

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

Kyle Adler

Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2019
Messages
7
Reaction score
0

neil_w

OpenRocketeer
Joined
Jul 14, 2015
Messages
13,888
Reaction score
7,176
Location
Northern NJ
Haha thank you. I thought it might be a bit too specific to ask here, but I couldn't find anywhere that might be better. That page you linked looks like it subscribes you to the dev mailing list, is there somewhere to contact them there?
Yeah just send an email to the list after you sign up.
 

Kyle Adler

Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2019
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Yeah just send an email to the list after you sign up.
Ah, gotcha. I sent them an email, and if we figure out how to change it I'll post an update.

Quick question for @neil_w for someone more experienced with the forum, is it worth creating a new post with an update on this particular solution to help people find it when they search, or do comments show up well enough in searches?
 

neil_w

OpenRocketeer
Joined
Jul 14, 2015
Messages
13,888
Reaction score
7,176
Location
Northern NJ
Ah, gotcha. I sent them an email, and if we figure out how to change it I'll post an update.

Quick question for @neil_w for someone more experienced with the forum, is it worth creating a new post with an update on this particular solution to help people find it when they search, or do comments show up well enough in searches?
If it's not really well-matched to the topic of the thread (and in this case I think it is not) then best to just post a new thread with a suitably descriptive title. I don't know if what you're asking is of particularly wide interest, but it's much less likely to be found buried in this thread.
 

Kyle Adler

Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2019
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
If it's not really well-matched to the topic of the thread (and in this case I think it is not) then best to just post a new thread with a suitably descriptive title. I don't know if what you're asking is of particularly wide interest, but it's much less likely to be found buried in this thread.
That's what I was thinking, seems obscure enough that it would only be found with its own thread. Thanks for all the help!
 

JoePfeiffer

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2013
Messages
344
Reaction score
311
Speaking as the guy who put the AppImage together.... good question! I've got no idea. I'll try to find an answer and post it when I do -- if (reasonable) changes are required in the AppImage I'll make them and put up a new one.
 

JoePfeiffer

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2013
Messages
344
Reaction score
311
I wound up putting up a new AppImage, which defaults to GTK3 if available. It can be found at
https://github.com/openrocket/openr...se-15.03/OpenRocket-15.03-2021_03_25.AppImage
It features some newer libraries, and (most importantly) will use GTK3 instead of GTK2 if it's available on your system.

In order to specify a theme when running it, just prepend GTK_THEME=theme-name to the command line when you run it, e.g.
$ GTK_THEME=Adwaita-dark OpenRocket-15.03-2021_03_25.AppImage

I'd appreciate it if anyone using the old AppImage could download the new one and give it a try. If I don't get any bug reports in a week or so I'll take the old one down.
 

JoePfeiffer

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2013
Messages
344
Reaction score
311
Ah, there were some issues with the new AppImage, and trying to get a better one working is proving problematic. I'll keep people posted...

QUOTE="JoePfeiffer, post: 2119607, member: 13709"]
I wound up putting up a new AppImage, which defaults to GTK3 if available. It can be found at
https://github.com/openrocket/openr...se-15.03/OpenRocket-15.03-2021_03_25.AppImage
It features some newer libraries, and (most importantly) will use GTK3 instead of GTK2 if it's available on your system.

In order to specify a theme when running it, just prepend GTK_THEME=theme-name to the command line when you run it, e.g.
$ GTK_THEME=Adwaita-dark OpenRocket-15.03-2021_03_25.AppImage

I'd appreciate it if anyone using the old AppImage could download the new one and give it a try. If I don't get any bug reports in a week or so I'll take the old one down.
[/QUOTE]
 

JoePfeiffer

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2013
Messages
344
Reaction score
311
I've spent longer than it's worth trying to get themes to work well with the appimage, and also run on a wide variety of distributions. Sorry, there are better things to work on in the new release...
 

Troy3003

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2021
Messages
283
Reaction score
204
Location
Shelbyville, KY
Is there a way to change something on my end to make this work? I tried the android download and it seems to work except when it goes to pull info from thrustcurve. I know its not supported anymore but seems like its just a matter of where its trying to pull from.Screenshot_20210807-210438_OpenRocket.jpg
 

Greg Furtman

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2018
Messages
1,924
Reaction score
1,282
Location
Webster, Wisconsin
I've spent longer than it's worth trying to get themes to work well with the appimage, and also run on a wide variety of distributions. Sorry, there are better things to work on in the new release...
Speaking of the new release, when might this happen? and it would be nice for us Windows users that if a complete .msi installer. GitHub confuses me greatly.
 

bjphoenix

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 3, 2011
Messages
1,078
Reaction score
245
The current version of OR is (still) 15.03; these packaged installers run the original OR code; nothing has been changed or modified here.

Windows
Click here to download the installer.

Is there a packaged installer that works with 32-bit Windows? Do I need to just download OR separately and then take my chances with whatever Java I already have installed?
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2020
Messages
246
Reaction score
269
Location
Redwater AB Canada
So I’ve been trying to install open rocket following Neil’s instructions. When I try to open the exe file I get a warning note. I’ve attached photo of the warning and my Windows 10 operating system. Any suggestions to try to get this to work would be greatly appreciated.
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    266.4 KB · Views: 28
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    245.4 KB · Views: 26

neil_w

OpenRocketeer
Joined
Jul 14, 2015
Messages
13,888
Reaction score
7,176
Location
Northern NJ
It is possible that it’s a 32/64 bit problem, as you’re running a 32-bit version of Windows. But I’m not sure how to properly diagnose, or better yet fix it.
 

Tobor

Get your peanuts....
Joined
Oct 8, 2016
Messages
2,305
Reaction score
777
It is possible that it’s a 32/64 bit problem, as you’re running a 32-bit version of Windows. But I’m not sure how to properly diagnose, or better yet fix it.
I believe the installer is 32bit. I ran the installer and let it sit at the "Ready to Install" window, then launched Process Explorer from SysInternals and did some digging. Under the "Strings" tab, one of the printable strings reads as "This program must be run under Win32". So, if I am right, it saying it is a 32bit executable.

Also, if it was a 64bit installer, I believe there would have been many complaints about it not running or crashing on older Windows systems.
 
Last edited:

neil_w

OpenRocketeer
Joined
Jul 14, 2015
Messages
13,888
Reaction score
7,176
Location
Northern NJ
Well, at least according to this website, Win10 doesn't like old versions of JDK. And something loosely similar here (3rd to last post on page) .
As part of the packaged installer, Windows shouldn't care. But that second page suggests that the problem is Windows Firewall or Antivirus something or other, which is very plausible.

@Raptor 2 can you try disabling firewall and/or antivirus and then install again? Obviously, re-enable both after installation attempt.
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2020
Messages
246
Reaction score
269
Location
Redwater AB Canada
As part of the packaged installer, Windows shouldn't care. But that second page suggests that the problem is Windows Firewall or Antivirus something or other, which is very plausible.

@Raptor 2 can you try disabling firewall and/or antivirus and then install again? Obviously, re-enable both after installation attempt.
I’ll have my wife who is a lot smarter than me in computers do that disabling and then try to reinstall on the PC. In the mean time she installed it on a laptop running windows 10 64 bit. She tells me it worked. I haven’t checked it out yet.
 

bad_idea

A known cause of NaN errors
Joined
Mar 19, 2021
Messages
464
Reaction score
352
Location
North Texas
Are their instructions anywhere on how to build the installer for MacOS? I've been able to build unstable on M1 (arm64, with Homebrew installed for another project) and install the java call as a shell script in the Applications folder, but I cannot find a way to persist a shell script in the dock, meaning I have to open the applications folder every time I launch unstable.

I spend most of my time in Linux, which is far easier to deal with, but my carryaround machine is an M1 Air (which I own in order to build the aforementioned other project), and I do a lot of my OpenRocket design work when I'm out and about killing time, so I need both machines on the same version. I'm willing to deal with the extra few clicks to get unstable running on the M1 if I have to, but if there's a straightforward way to get unstable as a mac app, I'd love to know.
 

neil_w

OpenRocketeer
Joined
Jul 14, 2015
Messages
13,888
Reaction score
7,176
Location
Northern NJ
Are their instructions anywhere on how to build the installer for MacOS? I've been able to build unstable on M1 (arm64, with Homebrew installed for another project) and install the java call as a shell script in the Applications folder, but I cannot find a way to persist a shell script in the dock, meaning I have to open the applications folder every time I launch unstable.

I spend most of my time in Linux, which is far easier to deal with, but my carryaround machine is an M1 Air (which I own in order to build the aforementioned other project), and I do a lot of my OpenRocket design work when I'm out and about killing time, so I need both machines on the same version. I'm willing to deal with the extra few clicks to get unstable running on the M1 if I have to, but if there's a straightforward way to get unstable as a mac app, I'd love to know.
Check your PMs.
 

rocketgeek101

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2011
Messages
2,387
Reaction score
252
Location
NB Canada
Are their instructions anywhere on how to build the installer for MacOS? I've been able to build unstable on M1 (arm64, with Homebrew installed for another project) and install the java call as a shell script in the Applications folder, but I cannot find a way to persist a shell script in the dock, meaning I have to open the applications folder every time I launch unstable.

I spend most of my time in Linux, which is far easier to deal with, but my carryaround machine is an M1 Air (which I own in order to build the aforementioned other project), and I do a lot of my OpenRocket design work when I'm out and about killing time, so I need both machines on the same version. I'm willing to deal with the extra few clicks to get unstable running on the M1 if I have to, but if there's a straightforward way to get unstable as a mac app, I'd love to know.

If you get this figured out, could you make an M1 version of the current stable release too?
 

neil_w

OpenRocketeer
Joined
Jul 14, 2015
Messages
13,888
Reaction score
7,176
Location
Northern NJ
If you get this figured out, could you make an M1 version of the current stable release too?
In my experience the native M1 version runs about the same as the x86 version in Rosetta 2. At least, I couldn't notice any obvious difference, although I didn't do any really detailed performance comparisons. Just going by feel.

From a project standpoint, I strongly suspect will will just distribute an x86 version to keep things simple, unless we can identify a significant benefit to native ARM version.
 

bad_idea

A known cause of NaN errors
Joined
Mar 19, 2021
Messages
464
Reaction score
352
Location
North Texas
If you get this figured out, could you make an M1 version of the current stable release too?
As Neil says, the x86 version works fine for me. My Linux workstation is an 8-core, 16-thread monster, and - as with most other workloads - the M1 is subjectively at least as fast in running OpenRocket. For anything not insanely multithreaded or requiring 3d graphics, the M1 with Rosetta is as fast or faster than any other machine I've used. It's really pretty amazing, and it's why I put up with it despite all of the MacOS quirks. :D
 

rocketgeek101

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2011
Messages
2,387
Reaction score
252
Location
NB Canada
In my experience the native M1 version runs about the same as the x86 version in Rosetta 2. At least, I couldn't notice any obvious difference, although I didn't do any really detailed performance comparisons. Just going by feel.

From a project standpoint, I strongly suspect will will just distribute an x86 version to keep things simple, unless we can identify a significant benefit to native ARM version.
The issue I see with that though is that Apple is not likely to keep Rosetta 2 around forever and if they do remove it in a future update that will leave a growing number of Mac users stuck without a way forward. I agree though that the current x86 version runs very well with Rosetta.
 

neil_w

OpenRocketeer
Joined
Jul 14, 2015
Messages
13,888
Reaction score
7,176
Location
Northern NJ
The issue I see with that though is that Apple is not likely to keep Rosetta 2 around forever and if they do remove it in a future update that will leave a growing number of Mac users stuck without a way forward. I agree though that the current x86 version runs very well with Rosetta.
This is a legitimate question but it seems that Rosetta 2 must still have several years of life in it (they're still selling Intel Macs, and are likely to be doing so for at least another year, unless they pull some big surprised). So this is an issue that we can probably defer for a while.
 

les

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
3,129
Reaction score
872
Dumb question - It appears every time I want to use OpenRocket I have to re-install it. Is that normal?
If not, what do I need to do?
 

neil_w

OpenRocketeer
Joined
Jul 14, 2015
Messages
13,888
Reaction score
7,176
Location
Northern NJ
No, not normal. Did you follow this instruction:
The application uses a standard installer, but it doesn't (at present) provide a shortcut on the desktop or the start menu. After installing, the actual executable file for the application is installed into your user/AppData/Local/OpenRocket folder. So you can go in there, right click the "OpenRocket.exe" file, and create a shortcut, pin it to the taskbar and/or pin it in the start menu, whatever.
 
Top