OpenRocket: packaged installers for Windows and Mac to solve all your Java problems

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

AOSbermunda

Member
Joined
May 14, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Location
Western Ohio
When I download it from either the official website, or the package on this thread, I can't get the edit window to open for the parts. Not the top left corner dropdown, but the edit button where you edit the dimentions, ect. of the part. Any ideas on how to fix this? Thanks!
 

neil_w

Hunkered down and slowly going crazy
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jul 14, 2015
Messages
8,683
Reaction score
2,124
Location
Northern NJ
When I download it from either the official website, or the package on this thread, I can't get the edit window to open for the parts. Not the top left corner dropdown, but the edit button where you edit the dimentions, ect. of the part. Any ideas on how to fix this? Thanks!
I haven't heard of that before. What OS are you running?

So are you saying that when you select a component and then click the edit button, nothing happens at all?
 

AOSbermunda

Member
Joined
May 14, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Location
Western Ohio
I haven't heard of that before. What OS are you running?

So are you saying that when you select a component and then click the edit button, nothing happens at all?
Yeah, nothing at all. I'm on the most current windows 10.
I did find an old thread about this issue, but it doesn't give any clear solutions.
 

wolsen

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Apr 14, 2019
Messages
54
Reaction score
60
Yeah, nothing at all. I'm on the most current windows 10.
I did find an old thread about this issue, but it doesn't give any clear solutions.
In that particular thread, I believe the problem was that the edit dialog showed up on a second monitor that was no longer attached. Another user came along and revived it but didn't get a reply.

As far as the edit option, have you tried double clicking on a component in the component view in the upper left of the main dialog? The double click is an action which maps to the edit as well.
 

neil_w

Hunkered down and slowly going crazy
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jul 14, 2015
Messages
8,683
Reaction score
2,124
Location
Northern NJ
In that particular thread, I believe the problem was that the edit dialog showed up on a second monitor that was no longer attached.
I have occasionally had this problem with other software. Would be good to rule it out here before we continue digging.
 

AOSbermunda

Member
Joined
May 14, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Location
Western Ohio
I have occasionally had this problem with other software. Would be good to rule it out here before we continue digging.
Yeah, I have 2 monitors, but it doesn't work when I try to do it with my laptop unplugged from my monitor either. Double clicking doesn't do anything either
 

neil_w

Hunkered down and slowly going crazy
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jul 14, 2015
Messages
8,683
Reaction score
2,124
Location
Northern NJ
Just for completeness, try changing the resolution of your laptop screen.
 

neil_w

Hunkered down and slowly going crazy
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jul 14, 2015
Messages
8,683
Reaction score
2,124
Location
Northern NJ
In that case I'm afraid I have no good suggestions. @wolsen , any idea how to diagnose something like this?
 

wolsen

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Apr 14, 2019
Messages
54
Reaction score
60
If Greg's suggestion doesn't help, you may want to disable antivirus apps temporarily and try that, just to rule out some funky behavior (those AV programs can do a variety of fun). If not that, the logs might reveal something. I don't use Windows, so I may be slightly off in my command line-fu, but if you could run the following from a command line:

java -Dopenrocket.debug=True -jar OpenRocket.jar 1> openrocket.log 2>&1

You should run this in the directory containing your OpenRocket.jar file. Also note, if your OpenRocket.jar file name differs (e.g. OpenRocket-15.03.jar), then substitute the name of the jar file for OpenRocket.jar.

Run through your test, close down OpenRocket and attach the openrocket.log file.

Note: if you have a hard time getting any output in the openrocket.log file, simply run the java -Dopenrocket.debug=True -jar OpenRocket.jar and copy the contents of the console output (it will be a lot).
 

John Kemker

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Aug 25, 2019
Messages
1,237
Reaction score
498
java -Dopenrocket.debug=True -jar OpenRocket.jar 1> openrocket.log 2>&1
That's a bash/ksh/sh UNIX/Linux redirection syntax. Don't think it works with cmd.exe or even PowerShell.
 

John Kemker

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Aug 25, 2019
Messages
1,237
Reaction score
498
I just tried it as written on my PC, works fine in cmd.exe.
Okay, then! I'm so used to ksh/bash for my scripting (25+ years UNIX/LInux sysadmin experience), I'd never tried it in cmd.exe! TIL!
 

AOSbermunda

Member
Joined
May 14, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Location
Western Ohio
I uninstalled Java, rebooted, and reinstalled java, and it worked!! I had just updated java yesterday, but I talked to a friend who said sometimes when Java updates it installs a new version on top of the old version, instated of replacing it, which causes issues. Thank you guys for your help!!
 

CalebJ

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jan 20, 2020
Messages
384
Reaction score
205
Odd that your Java installation was affecting the packaged copy of OR.
 

wolsen

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Apr 14, 2019
Messages
54
Reaction score
60
I uninstalled Java, rebooted, and reinstalled java, and it worked!! I had just updated java yesterday, but I talked to a friend who said sometimes when Java updates it installs a new version on top of the old version, instated of replacing it, which causes issues. Thank you guys for your help!!
Glad to hear that you got it working. That's quite the odd issue for sure
 
Top