OpenRocket: packaged installers for Windows and Mac to solve all your Java problems

Discussion in 'Rocketry Electronics and Software' started by neil_w, Nov 27, 2017.

Help Support The Rocketry Forum by donating:

  1. Jan 22, 2020 #91

    ebruce1361

    ebruce1361

    ebruce1361

    The man with the plan. And some duct tape.

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Pinellas County, Florida
    I have 3D graphics enabled as well as anti-aliasing. I tried disabling and re-enabling 3D graphics, but still no luck.

    The computer I'm using was recently updated from Windows 7 to 10 and has been having internet connection issues since the upgrade. Maybe my computer isn't downloading the file properly?
     
  2. Jan 22, 2020 #92

    neil_w

    neil_w

    neil_w

    Pencil Pusher TRF Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    7,309
    Likes Received:
    1,349
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    Leave 3D graphics enabled, but try disabling anti-aliasing. Probably will have no effect.

    Downloading the file is not the issue. Sounds like a graphics driver issue. Check that your graphics drivers are up-to-date. Other than that I'm afraid I have nothing to suggest.
     
  3. Jan 22, 2020 #93

    ebruce1361

    ebruce1361

    ebruce1361

    The man with the plan. And some duct tape.

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Pinellas County, Florida
    Actually, that makes sense. I haven't gotten a chance to download all the drivers since the O.S. upgrade, so that might be the issue. Especially since Openrocket worked just fine on this PC with Windows 7.
     
  4. Jan 23, 2020 #94

    dhbarr

    dhbarr

    dhbarr

    Amateur Professional

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    5,984
    Likes Received:
    735
    Is this an Intel GPU? Anecdotally I've noticed a loose correlation there
     
    Greg Furtman likes this.
  5. Jan 23, 2020 #95

    ebruce1361

    ebruce1361

    ebruce1361

    The man with the plan. And some duct tape.

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Pinellas County, Florida
    I believe so, but I am not entirely certain. I'm electronics savvy in the multimeters-and-transistors sense. Knowing how a computer is optimized isn't my strong suit.
     
  6. Jan 23, 2020 #96

    manixFan

    manixFan

    manixFan

    Not a rocket scientist

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,413
    Likes Received:
    456
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    TX
    https://www.howtogeek.com/414201/how-to-check-what-graphics-card-gpu-is-in-your-pc/

    Pretty simple to find out your graphics card. I've had trouble with Intel GPU's with some of the Adobe apps, so I would not be surprised if it's part of the problem. Let us know what you find.


    Tony
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2020
  7. Jan 24, 2020 #97

    Greg Furtman

    Greg Furtman

    Greg Furtman

    Forum Supporter TRF Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    179
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Webster, Wisconsin
    OR works well on my two laptops but I had a program that used 3D rendering not work on my older laptop. The Intel GPU would not support OpenGL that the program needed.
     
  8. Jan 24, 2020 #98

    ebruce1361

    ebruce1361

    ebruce1361

    The man with the plan. And some duct tape.

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Pinellas County, Florida
    @manixFan

    I tried looking up the graphics info per the instructions you supplied, but I cannot find a GPU 0 listed at all. This PC is one made more for office use; is it possible that I don't actually have a graphics processor at all? Things like YouTube load just fine, but I don't know about interactive things like games or 3D modeling.

    no gpu.png
     
  9. Jan 24, 2020 #99

    neil_w

    neil_w

    neil_w

    Pencil Pusher TRF Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    7,309
    Likes Received:
    1,349
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    If you have a monitor connected, then no. :)

    Google "how to find my GPU in Windows 10" or something like that for instructions. It's almost certain that on a business machine you have an integrated Intel GPU. In general, that should not be a problem in getting OR to display the 3D views, provided that your drivers are in order.
     
    ebruce1361 likes this.
  10. Jan 24, 2020 #100

    ebruce1361

    ebruce1361

    ebruce1361

    The man with the plan. And some duct tape.

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Pinellas County, Florida
    Shows how much I understand computers.

    Okay I looked up instructions on Google and got directed to look through System Information>Components>Display and was able to pull this up:
    GPU I think.png

    To me, it's all gobbeldygouk, but maybe you can tell if I have the wrong driver or something.
     
  11. Jan 24, 2020 #101

    Greg Furtman

    Greg Furtman

    Greg Furtman

    Forum Supporter TRF Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    179
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Webster, Wisconsin
    You have an Intel Q45/Q43 Express Chipset as a display adapter. The last driver release from Intel for it was for Win XP. So Win 10 is prbably using some generic display driver.

    Is your computer a laptop or desktop? If is a desktop you could put a different graphics card in it, something newer. If it is a laptop you're stuck with the Q45/Q43 Express.
     
  12. Jan 24, 2020 #102

    ebruce1361

    ebruce1361

    ebruce1361

    The man with the plan. And some duct tape.

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Pinellas County, Florida
    Desktop.
     
  13. Jan 24, 2020 #103

    Greg Furtman

    Greg Furtman

    Greg Furtman

    Forum Supporter TRF Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    179
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Webster, Wisconsin
    What make & model? I can look up the specs and then make a suggestion on a graphics card.
     
  14. Jan 24, 2020 #104

    manixFan

    manixFan

    manixFan

    Not a rocket scientist

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,413
    Likes Received:
    456
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    TX
    Your drivers are too old for the GPU to show up in Task Manager. It needs to be WDDM 2.0 or greater, and you can see that yours is WDDM 1.1. Your CPU was released in 2010 so it's a decade old. With some effort, you might be able to find updated drivers for the Intel chipset but buying an inexpensive graphics card should do the trick if you're not ready for a new computer.


    Tony
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2020
    Greg Furtman and neil_w like this.
  15. Jan 26, 2020 #105

    petngimm

    petngimm

    petngimm

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello I need help I'm chasing the rocksim file for a Spitfire HPR made by PML (Public Missiles). Otherwise it will prove to be quite difficult to obtain the CP (centre of pressure ). I need the Rocksim file so I can upload to my Openrocket program the complete schematics of the rocket. Without, it it's almost impossible to work out suitable motors to fly? The rate of descent, apogee etc.

    Regards

    Peter
     
  16. Jan 26, 2020 #106

    timbucktoo

    timbucktoo

    timbucktoo

    Well-Known Member Staff Member Global Mod

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    6,446
    Likes Received:
    668
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cocoa Beach
    All PML rocksim files can be found here:
    https://publicmissiles.com/rocksim_data.html
     
  17. Jan 27, 2020 #107

    petngimm

    petngimm

    petngimm

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    The actual rocksim file isn't available for the Spitfire High power rocket kit. I've checked on their (Public missiles) database there isn't one labeled for the Spitfire. I need to work out the CP (center of pressure) which is vital in the construction of the rocket!
     

Share This Page

Group Builder