open rocket error

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

bobby_hamill

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
1,543
Reaction score
181
working on a Estes Hercules sim and everything is fine till I try to insert booster fins

See image below

Bobby

open rocket error.jpg
 

Steve Shannon

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2011
Messages
6,761
Reaction score
3,671
Location
Butte, Montana
See how that fin exists in some of the same space as the one forward of it? I suspect that's the trouble.


Steve Shannon
 

K'Tesh

OpenRocket Chuck Norris
TRF Supporter
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
16,252
Reaction score
3,389
It pops up on occasion. Save what you have, if you can. Close the program and see if it happens again. If it doesn't work thentry to rreboot the computer.

Oh, and it has nothing to do with the fins being in the same place as other fins.
 
Last edited:

K'Tesh

OpenRocket Chuck Norris
TRF Supporter
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
16,252
Reaction score
3,389
No problem.

In my .ork files, I frequently have fins overlap others to create the appearance desired. I call them "Air Fins". These are typically at a fraction of a degree to allow the decals that appear on one side to not appear on the other where they would be bɘɿoɿɿim/mirrored. It's the very fact that OR doesn't take these physical impossibilities into consideration that makes it possible to have an engine hook placed properly.
 

Nytrunner

Pop lugs, not drugs
TRF Supporter
Joined
Oct 15, 2016
Messages
7,954
Reaction score
3,647
Location
Huntsville AL
How do you do your engine hooks anyway? Extremely convoluted freeform fin?
 

K'Tesh

OpenRocket Chuck Norris
TRF Supporter
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
16,252
Reaction score
3,389
How do you do your engine hooks anyway? Extremely convoluted freeform fin?
Bingo! Attached to a phantom body tube of a reduced diameter to allow it to "fit" over the motor tube, and still "hook" over the motor.
 

bobby_hamill

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
1,543
Reaction score
181
I have rebooted computer several times and still the problem exists.
Would it have anything to do with me drawing the 1st and 2nd stages all in one drawing ?
I can send the file and fin if anyone wants to give it a try ?

Bobby
 

Rex R

LV2
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
6,101
Reaction score
147
if you would be so kind, please post the files so we can see if it a) is just you or b) something in your files. misery shared is diminished.
Rex
 

Rex R

LV2
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
6,101
Reaction score
147
is this what you had in mind?:). your image is likely the culprit I didn't run out of memory...but or barfed on it, resized the image to 25% of the original size (and still had to scale the fins down). the other bit that is going to cause problems down the road, you should have clicked on the new stage button before you started the booster. if you want to run flight sims as a 2stage rocket you'll have to duplicate the booster and get rid of the current one(I believe that you can copy the current booster to the new stage, haven't tried). anywho here it is.
Rex

View attachment herk1a.ork
 

bobby_hamill

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
1,543
Reaction score
181
Rex R

That is what I was trying to do . This was my first sim for a 2 stage rocket.
When you said you had to resize the image by 25% was
that the image of the rocket or of the fins ? When I first inserted the fins they
were very small and I increased the fin image size.
That is probably what was causing the error

Bobby
 

Rex R

LV2
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
6,101
Reaction score
147
I reduced the size of the fin image, that or the white line at the base of the fin(that is a no-no for importing from image).
Rex
 

bobby_hamill

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
1,543
Reaction score
181
Rex R
Thanks for your help and everyone else
I will be up scaling the Hercules to a PML 4.024 outside diameter ( 3.9 inside diameter )
But first I gotta get started on the same up scale for the maxi Icarus
I hope to start posting on the Maxi Icarus up scale by the end of January.
The only problem is I cant start painting until the spring as my small shop has no heat but wood heater and
painting in the house is a no no
 

Rex R

LV2
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
6,101
Reaction score
147
so staging might not be your 1st priority. glad we got this bit sorted out.I was able to add a new stage to your design, from there I was able to select the parent component of the booster(the body tube) and move it to the new stage easy peasy. the flight sim netted 790" B6-0 to B6-4.
Rex
 

bobby_hamill

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
1,543
Reaction score
181
Rex R

Yep I gotta get the Maxi Icarus up scale done first
When I get to the Hercules up scale it will be a simulated 2 stage just using one 38mm motor

Bobby
 
Top