open rocket and drag

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lt72884

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
I know i have been asking alot of questions, but i have hit that stage in school where book work and theory can only take you so far. I am studying fluid dynamics and drag at the moment in lab and class. All the work we have done for assignments, the numbers came from charts based on wind tunnel experiments over the last 50 years or so. I just finished numerical methods class and had no idea that runge kuta was a thing or those types of techniques existed.
Here is my question, in open rocket when i do a "component analysis" and it shows me my drag coefficients. Are those Cd's in open rocket calculated from a set of drag force data that came from wind tunnel tests? or does open rocket calculate all of the drag values?
reason i ask, alot of wind tunnel data say that for a model rocket, use 0.75, however, for my LOCIV rocket, my Cd is 0.3 according to the analysis

thanks for all the help

Last edited:
I am sure that OR does the calculation (Barrowman Equations).

I do get different Cd values (Total Cd) on different rocket designs.
0.632 for my LaserLOC 223
0.869 for extended Loc Goblin.

0.3 seems a bit too low for a Loc IV.
Surface finish WILL have a effect.

OR is open source so you can just go look and see how it works. See src/net/sf/openrocket/aerodynamics/BarrowmanCalculator.java And Barrowman's thesis http://mae-nas.eng.usu.edu/MAE_5900_Web/5900/USLI_2010/Flight_Mechanics/Barrowman.pdf has plenty of stuff about comparison with experimental data. This is, as waltr says, extremely dependent on surface finish and fin cross-section, and OR has only limited ability to define the latter (you can say "airfoil" but not what that means, at least as of 15.04.)