open rocket - altitude simulation problems - obviously incorrect altitude.

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kingston57980

Reaction score
I am currently using open rocket to designe a rocket for a project, however the simulation says that the apogee will only be 1.13m?
i am new to this o it is probly some thing really simple that i have overlooked.
any help would be greatly apreacheted.
Hear is some of the specs of the rocket:
outer diameter - 6cm
nose cone shape - ogive
body tube length - 40cm
fin type - trapezoidal
fin hight - 6cm
motor type - Estes B4-4

Thanks!!

That's likely going to be overall mass, weight in the backend ( fin material ), near-instantaneous chute deployment, or possibly a launch rod that's too short by an order of magnitude. Attaching the sim file will narrow it down pretty fast.

Hi all, thank you for the responses.
I have attached the simulation files.
the fin material is carboard - I had the same idea! (overall mass is 436g with B4-4 motor) - I would change this to plywood or balsa wood for the final design.
I have also checked chute deployment as well, however, as far as i can tell the deployment will be after the ejection charge (4sec after burnout).
I have also previously checked the launch rod length and it was at 100cm (plenty longer than the rocket)
I have also tried a higher power motor in there (I even tried a H class motor) but that still only got to a apogee of 800m.
I have also tried installing the 22.02 beta version of open rocket to see if that would fix the issue, but with a very similar rocket it did not.
Thank You!

Attachments

• Altitude problem file - openRocket.csv
    32.7 KB · Views: 1
  • single - mk1 - with.ork
    1.9 KB · Views: 2
Last edited:
Got 3.45 ft with a B4.
Rocket weight of 438 grams is simply just too much for a B, C or even a D motor.