One place to put Rocksim 10.2 crashes/glitches

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

Bill S

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2019
Messages
772
Reaction score
368
I am opening this thread to provide a place for people to post any glitches in Rocksim 10.2. Most of what issues I had with 10.1 are resolved. However...

I've been seeing random crashes when manipulating pods and their location. Lost 20 mins of work due to that one.
 

Bill S

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2019
Messages
772
Reaction score
368
A second glitch is this: I can work up a rocket, and it runs simulated flights just fine. I save the file, replacing the earlier version with the new version (overwrote it). I later open Rocksim and try to do more simulated launches, and now it won't launch, nada.

It also happens when I try to run an older file, one that worked fine before. So its not the files, its the program itself.

It would be REALLY REALLY nice if Rocksim would tell you what the problem is so you can fix it. Noooo, I have to go back to a previous version, re-do the changes AGAIN, just to get a file that runs correctly. And maybe it'll run again in the future, maybe it won't. FIX THIS ASAP!
 
Last edited:

Bill S

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2019
Messages
772
Reaction score
368
I've got another crash to report: while changing the sweep on a fin, the program crashed. I also had 2 crashes while working with pods. Maybe these are areas that need attention.
 

Mike Haberer

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jan 7, 2019
Messages
648
Reaction score
413
Rocksim randomly crashes often after just using it to run simulations when I go to open the next .rkt file. You should get prompted to save the open file and the prompt doesn't come, the program just dies. That smells like a memory management issue to me.
 

Bill S

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2019
Messages
772
Reaction score
368
I am randomly still seeing red X no launches. I get a rocket that previously launched (have saved launch data), all of a sudden won't launch. I can sometimes get it to work by exiting the program and starting up again, but it frequently takes multiple attempts to get it to work.

I mentioned this to Apogee, and their reply was that I wasn't setting something up, or that something was not done correctly. Well gee. The program has effectively zero feeback as to what is wrong with the design/parts/materials so even after spending about 20 minutes reviewing all the parts, materials, dimensions, etc, and making a few minor tweaks, still no launch. I load up a different rocket file, works fine, go back to the "problematic one", still doesn't work. Get frustrated, walk away, restart the program and load up the "problematic" file and now it works.

I don't care what the guy at Apogee says, when the error happens with files other people have done, and randomly comes and goes, it isn't user error. I pretty much didn't see this in V9. Maybe all the tinkering by the new programmer broke something? I still occasionally get the "crossed lines" error, when there are only 6 plan points on a custom fin, and the program shows all 6 of them. So where's the crossed lines?

I cannot fathom how the guy stays in business, as gruff and unhelpful as he is with his customers.

If someone wants to stare at this file and see where it might be wrong, feel free, I'd really appreciate it. I can't find anything wrong.
 

Attachments

hartlch

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
111
Reaction score
12
Something to try would be to make a copy of the .rkt file before starting the program and then diff the files after shutting down the program. Check for both cases: where you do save the file explicitly and where you don't save the file on exit. Take a look at what gets changed in the files (they are text files). See if something is changing that seems odd.

Agree that error messages like "Can't do xxx" are useless - at least give us some idea what the malfunction is...
 

cbrarick

Wildman CT
Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
2,623
Reaction score
338
At least it runs for you. I can't get it to launch anything

I asked for my RS 9 back......no answers......
 

cbrarick

Wildman CT
Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
2,623
Reaction score
338
I wish they would come up with a "Revert to Rocksim 9" option. I'd use that one. RS 10 stinks.
until they either fix RS10 or allow me to revert to 9, I'm not buying ANYTHING else from Apogee
 

rcktnut

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2009
Messages
1,698
Reaction score
260
Location
Sheboygan WI
I am randomly still seeing red X no launches. I get a rocket that previously launched (have saved launch data), all of a sudden won't launch. I can sometimes get it to work by exiting the program and starting up again, but it frequently takes multiple attempts to get it to work.

I mentioned this to Apogee, and their reply was that I wasn't setting something up, or that something was not done correctly. Well gee. The program has effectively zero feeback as to what is wrong with the design/parts/materials so even after spending about 20 minutes reviewing all the parts, materials, dimensions, etc, and making a few minor tweaks, still no launch. I load up a different rocket file, works fine, go back to the "problematic one", still doesn't work. Get frustrated, walk away, restart the program and load up the "problematic" file and now it works.

I don't care what the guy at Apogee says, when the error happens with files other people have done, and randomly comes and goes, it isn't user error. I pretty much didn't see this in V9. Maybe all the tinkering by the new programmer broke something? I still occasionally get the "crossed lines" error, when there are only 6 plan points on a custom fin, and the program shows all 6 of them. So where's the crossed lines?

I cannot fathom how the guy stays in business, as gruff and unhelpful as he is with his customers.

If someone wants to stare at this file and see where it might be wrong, feel free, I'd really appreciate it. I can't find anything wrong.

Nice design!! I played around with it in RS-10 (never downloaded the upgrades) and never will, loaded up a bunch of motors works just fine.
 

Bill S

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2019
Messages
772
Reaction score
368
rcktnut, thanks. I'm waiting on the paint to dry before putting on decals. Its going to be a beauty. :)
 

kalsow

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
99
Reaction score
71
I am running RockSim 10.2.0f37.

First try, none of the simulations worked.
Second try, remove the pods and the simulations run (after replacing the unknown motors)
Third try, restored the pods and unchecked the "This pod can be ejected during simulations." option on each pod and the simulations ran.

... maybe a clue?
 

Bill S

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2019
Messages
772
Reaction score
368
Kalsow,
Good idea. I unchecked that on all the pods on not only this design but on another design I'm working on. Sims ran a few times, then when I restarted the program whammo, the dreaded red X, no launch.

I have no idea what that option does, but it seems to be on by default.

Edit... I tried your idea of removing the pods and I didn't restart the program. I removed a pod at a time and tried to launch, no luck, until I removed the third pod, and then it would launch. I then added pods one at a time, trying to launch after each pod was added, and was still able to launch after adding one, two, or all 3 pods. Weird.

I loaded the program up again, started to delete the pods, after removing pod 2 it'd launch. Put it back, still launches.

Loaded it up again, no launch. Deleted pod 2, now it launches. :( Freaking weird.
 
Last edited:
Top