Not your ordinary epoxy thread...

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

How many DIFFERENT epoxy SYSTEMS have you used extensively? See the text for "different systems".

• None or 1

Votes: 6 9.5%

Votes: 12 19.0%

Votes: 18 28.6%

Votes: 5 7.9%

Votes: 11 17.5%
  • 6 or more

Votes: 11 17.5%

• Total voters
Rocketpoxy: I like the glue itself, but I avoid using it because I have difficulty dispensing/measuring it. Put a big glob on the scale. 20 grams, OK. Pull a glob of hardener out of the tub, plop onto the scale, crap. 24 grams. Try to get 4 grams of the resin out, and either over or under shoot. Rinse repeat. Hate it. But once mixed, it is one of my favorites.
I've never used Rocketpoxy before so I don't know if it might be too thick for this, but before I wised up and got the pump set for West System, I got the amounts right every time by drawing them out of their containers with marked syringes.

I've never used Rocketpoxy before so I don't know if it might be too thick for this, but before I wised up and got the pump set for West System, I got the amounts right every time by drawing them out of their containers with marked syringes.
I haven't tried, but I doubt RocketPoxy will work with pumps.

Hans. IMG_20221231_141734002.jpgIMG_20221231_141422611.jpg

Soooo.... you're not supposed to drink it? Yes, it's polyester resin; but I've used it on rockets. My "Big Daddy" (see my avatar) was coated in it, tube and fins, and it turned out to make the little rocket much more durable than stock. I'm quite pleased with the outcome. You can use this stuff in place of epoxy. Maybe not for HPR, but certainly for MPR.

And as it for it being toxic, well, it hasn't killed me yet. But I commute on 2-wheels, so epoxy is likely to be the least dangerous thing I deal with.