Nike Hercules

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Johnnie

Reaction score
A couple of years ago I bought the Nike Hercules Plan Pak from The Launch Pad, and built a Nike Hercules from scratch. Someone made me an offer on that Bird that I could not refuse, so I sold it. A year later I decided to build it again, only as an upscale;

An upscale of that rocket Plan Pak would have me builing a 6' Nike with 3" dia booster tubes, and a 4" sustainer tube. But the more I studied the Hercules across the net, the more I wanted to build a Hercules as close to scale as possible. The following is what I have complete after 2 years of building it when I can.
90% scale Diamond airfoil booster fins; Booster tubes mounted with offset centering rings and motor mount tubes, to mount (4) 38mm motors closer to the center of thrust; Booster to sustainer transistion section is completed except for final fiberglass skin; motor mount and body tubing cut to length, and 5.5" outer bodytubing is cut to length (sustainer is actually a cigar shape, and an inner 4" dia tube w/ a 5.5" outer tube w/ transistions on either end will create this body line).

The flight plan when completed:
(4) 38 mm experimental fast Blue motors, or commercial H180 motors staging to:
(1) experimental J whitelightning clone, or commercial J350 or J275

The booster recovered by timer ejection w/ motor back-up, and sustainer with dual deployment using an RRC2 altimeter.

The staging will use PET2 timer to ignite upper stage, at booster motor burnout, and lighting an ejection charge to simulate Drag Separation...

All in theory of course, as I have many moons of building yet to be done.

My Wife is hooking up a Flatbed all~in~one scanner today, so I hope to post pics of the old Nike, as well as progress pics of the current build.

Ask me and I'll tell ya all about it...

Johnnie Paul