Newbie questions

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

noahnott

Reaction score
Im new to rockets, and may be quitting soon. Not yet, but i usually quit a project after a a few weeks. So far ive made two rockets from scratch (in 1 week) which are a little crude. However, this is getting boring and repetative. Rockets have basically the same idea (as far as i know with small rockets), long tube, fins, nose cone, payload sometimes, and a recovery system. Almost forgot, the motor or two or three or four.

Im starting to dislike fins because they look delicate, somewhat ugly and not original. Is it possible to use a CO2 canister that people use in painball guns. Im talking about one of those tiny canisters about 10 grams or something rediculously light (not the ones that weight 5 tonnes).

Is there a way to hook up my reciever (which came from a piccoboard but the gyro broke so i ripped the reciever off), a battery, and a few servos up to the CO2 canister as a way of stabilizing my rocket. Gyros on the x, y and z (left/right, front/back, spin) axis and correct the rockets direction if it moves anywhere. (yes i know there is some drift which is why i hook it up to my tx and correct it if it gets outa hand.

Basically in short, im asking: is there a way to control the flow of CO2 going through a tube out of the rocket. Is there someway to control this using a servo/valve/something and to hook it up to a gyro? What is that something i need to buy to do it?

Sounds a little far fetch for a person like me. I may try but i doubt i will finish or start it.