New to This

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Red_Leader

Reaction score
Hello all, I’m a high school student looking to build some rockets from scratch. I’ve already had some experience with dangerous chemicals, Estes rockets, and homemade rocket fuel. I’ve made gunpowder, nitrocellulose, zinc sulfur powder, and r-candy. I found the Richard Nakka site the other day and started messing around with the SRM excel program. What I’m wondering is, what would be a good first proof of concept rocket build just to get an idea of what I’m doing? What size engine, what fuel, materials? Thanks in advance!

#1 the most important thing you can do is to get a mentor. Making rocket motors is hazardous, and you need to understand how to mitigate that risk before you burn down your house (or worse). Seriously, go to your closest Tripoli club and get a mentor before you start mixing any more motors. Every major rocket motor manufacturer has burned down at least once. If it happened to them, it can easily happen to you. Learning how to mix motors off of YouTube is like learning to drive watching NASCAR videos.

On a distant second, I'd recommend a 54mm cardboard rocket made with thick wall tubing (eg from LOC, though there are many manufacturers) and a 29mm motor mount. That will be a good size compromise for mid-power and the edge of high power motors. Kit or scratch-built doesn't really matter, just depends on what you want to do.

Also, don't discount using commercial motors. There is an awful lot to learn even if you're buying motors. Many of those things (especially successful recovery) will make your experience flying your own research motors much more rewarding.