New to Open Rocket and sims

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tsmmiller

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
I am a complete beginner with Open Rocket and have just messed with how it works.
I recently purchased the Wildman Lance Beta and decided I wanted to use head end deployment as well as learn OR for the build.
Since I had all of the parts I weighed every componant except the 22 in motor mount (out of stock)
I spent the better part of two weeks looking at how everything would fit together, laid it out dry and went to work with OR.
This is what I ended up with. Bear in mind I have no idea on motors at this time and just threw a bunch in to see what the stability would do with various size motors.
Again, this is the very first sim I have done so any critique will be appreciated. Right, wrong, why did you?
Thanks

Attachments

• LANCE BETA HEAD END TRYOUT.ork
    516.1 KB · Views: 6
First impression... Not bad. It looks like you reverse engineered a .rkt file (due to the default blue 3D appearance). I've been known to begin a sim project with that (usually for downscales). Reverse engineering helped me learn what I needed to know on getting started with OR. I often find that 3D viewing can help find errors, and it makes for pretty pictures when you take time to do the visual work (completely unnecessary, but looks cool).

On the Aluminum tip, you can "override" the mass, and get rid of the blob on the point of the nosecone (or reduce the Mass object's diameter to zero). Same with the nose/stability weight and the parachute.