New to Model Rockets!

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Boppa

Reaction score
Hi all :)

Ive decided to give model rockets a try but i have no idea where to start! :-(

Im not new to the model scene & have built RC cars/boats/planes etc but ive never tried the model rockets & ive only ever seen them in action by watching vids off the net which was enough for me to say "Yes, i'll have some of that"!

So id like to ask a few questions that i hope some of you experts & beginners alike! can answer for me :)

Please excuse any silly questions i might ask, but like ive said im a total newbie & need as much info/advice i can gather for choosing my 1st rocket :)

Motors:
Ive noticed theres many different types of Motors but I also came to realise (after browsing net etc) that some require an Explosives license!?
So as a "newbie!" Whats the most powerful motor Im able to use (depending on what rocket i choose) thats Legal without having an Explosives License! ?

Rocket Kits:
Like most RC models, Rocket kits ive noticed come in similar packages: Ready to fly/Run etc & then different skill levels, 1,2,3 etc. Some kits ive looked at such as the "Blue Ninja" is a ready to run & im guessing this just pretty much clips together? But what i want to know is how much of a learning curve is it from each skill level, eg:
Is it ALOT more complicated to try a skill level 1 kit than a RTF kit or is it just a little more complicated?