New to forum - question on build

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kevmk81

Reaction score
Hello y’all! I’m fairly new at HPR builds and have a quick question. I am so used to using launch lugs but tonight I started my first HPR build - an apogee zephyr. I was so focused on doing the epoxying correctly for the internal fillets that I installed the rear bulkhead and totally forgot to epoxy the underside of the weld-nut for the rail button! :-(. How likely is that rail button to fail within the first one or two launches? I’m wanting to certify level 1 with this rocket. Ugh. Such a mistake. I watched one of apogees videos on how to fix a broken rail button so I suppose if worst comes to worst I can use their method of taking a drill bit to the bulkhead and using a dowel to go through the hole to apply epoxy. Should I just do that anyways?

Thanks everyone!!!

It will be fine. I have yet to replace a button on any of my rockets that have flown several times. You could get some thin CA to hold the nut in place.

Last edited:
It will be completely fine until you decide to remove the button.

If, for any reason, you decide to remove it, loosen it CAREFULLY and put a drop or 2 of thin CA around the backer and let it cure fully before doing anything else with it.

It will be completely fine until you decide to remove the button.

If, for any reason, you decide to remove it, loosen it CAREFULLY and put a drop or 2 of thin CA around the backer and let it cure fully before doing anything else with it.
I would just leave it, and only wick some adhesive in it it backs itself out naturally.

Worst case scenario the button comes off, you jam some epoxy through the hole, and screw on another button. Now the jbweld is your new backing nut.

I would just leave it, and only wick some adhesive in it it backs itself out naturally.