3D Printing New to 3D printing

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JeffBigg

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

As the title says, I'm new to 3d printing. I finally decided to get into it so I could try to print some things for my rockets. So, this past Saturday I picked one up at Microcenter. I feel like things have come a long way since I looked at 3d printers years ago.

I was able to download and print a 29mm motor retainer that fits Estes tubes perfect, and now I am trying to print a 4 inch nose cone electronics bay. It is still printing, but I'm not sure it will turn out. When I opened this file in the slicer, it seems like it was designed in Inches, but the slicer thought it was mm. I scaled it up by 2540, but it does looks like that may have impacted the threads. I still have several hours to wait to find out.

I'm wondering if anyone can tell me how to change a model from mm to inches so the detail remains. Or a slicer that allows me to pick the UOM. I tried Creality and Cura slicer.

You'll all probably get tired of my questions pretty soon, but I always appreciate the help.

More questions:
Is there a way to search the forums for .STL files?

Is there rocketry related groups on Thingiverse or Printables that I could join?
All my current searches always show a bunch of "toy" type rockets and very little hobby rocket type parts.

Thanks,
Jeff

Hey Jeff. Welcome to the bottomless pit of your newest hobby!

For the units, I don't run into this very often so I can't remember if my slicer (prusaslicer) prompts me when I load a model in imperial. The vast majority of modelers use metric, so my slicer is set to that. I did find a way to reset it in the configuration but if models were 50/50 imperial metric, that would be a pain. I would dive into the config/preferences section on the slicer to see what the behavior is.