New, Old , Now in AZ

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hiya! I'm Mike. Long ago, I flew competition in the NARAM-16/19 time frame with a comeback for -23. The last competition was as a member of the Squirrels, NAR T006. As a fresh Mechanical Engineer out of the U of Md., I started a career in the Defense side of solid propulsion which did not allow time for the hobby. However, in those years, I learned much that will help now that I've picked it back up in retirement, and I also got to build lottsa 2.75" and 66mm rockets, paid for by others. In March '22, I went to to the G. Harry Stine Memorial Launch at the SSS field in the Kofa desert in AZ. and was reinfected with the rocket obsession.

Despite being a total novice at dual deployment and totally uncertified in HPR, I find I have many strong opinions about such systems and how they should operate. My training in Missile Propulsion Maintenance School made me feel somewhat appalled by the procedures for preparing a dual deploy rocket for flight and I decided to make my rockets differently. So, as any engineer would do, I set about laying out my requirements:
1. No handling loose black powder on the range! (Well, beyond what AeroTech has you do to perform a reload) Mankind may have used loose propellant for firearms for 400 years and fixed ammunition for only 100 years so far, but I think the advantages are plain....
2. No opening the AV bay on the range for normal operations. (yeah, I backed down on this one....)
3. No tools required for deployment preparation (Again, tools to support the AeroTech reload gotta be supported.)
4. NO POWERED STARTERS with ANY body parts within 2'!!!!