New guy from Kansas, with questions!

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Faeric

Reaction score
Hey all,

A quick introduction: I'm a college student in an electrical engineering program, and I've worked with Estes model rockets in the past. About a year ago this time I started experimenting with making my own sugar motors, though to date none have left the ground... ;)

My current setup includes a temp-controlled electric skillet, a grain-casting bench, and a digital scale, basically. I just started trying to pour inhibited Bates grains.

Insofar as my questions are concerned, I'm not looking for a top-down explanation on how to do things, and that is NOT meant as a dig to all of you incredibly helpful people--It's just that the most enjoyable part of the process for me is the experimentation. However, if you do see a way I should stay safer, please let me know.

Here's a short video of a VERY poorly cooked and cast Bates grain in 1" PVC with a brass nozzle to keep pressure up--Note: I'm not intending to use this setup to fly, but just to do tests. If anyone can give me some pointers on keeping the fuel warm enough to cast and core once I remove it from the pan, suggestions would be greatly appreciated--The fuel hardens up on me before I fully transfer it to the mold.

[video=youtube;k2QiQZjt20E]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k2QiQZjt20E&feature=youtu.be[/video]

I'm wanting to reduce my burn time and the like, and I have ideas on how to do that, but I noticed that the cement block I fired onto was left with an eighth inch of carbon (see photos)--is this an indication of too much fuel? I cooked a 65-35 mixture of KNO3 and Sucrose, fyi.

IMG_1721.jpgIMG_1722.JPG

Also, what sort of materials have you used to custom-make parachutes? Trashbags and the like? I'm slowly figuring out how to properly do black-powder ejection charges...