New Blast Deflectors

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

CrazyModelGuy

Reaction score
I currently am just doing smaller rockets not level 1. And the blast deflector that I just got with my new starter kit seemed to be as thin as my patience. LOL. So thankfully im a machinist......so I made more durable Blast Deflectors and 1 piece launch rods.

First photo is a size comparison from the stock deflector to the one I just made. Including the stainless standoff ring. It is 8" dia. x 1/16" thick 304 stainless steel.
Second photo is a 5" dia. x 1/32" thick 304 Stainless.

8instainlessblastdelector.jpg

5inblastdeflector.jpg

Johnly

Reaction score
I use electrical quad box blank off covers with a hole drilled in the center. Not spiffy SST. but they are available locally and cheap.

CrazyModelGuy

Reaction score
I use electrical quad box blank off covers with a hole drilled in the center. Not spiffy SST. but they are available locally and cheap.
Stainless holds up a little better verses the rocket exhaust gases and heat. But yeah. I used the stainless because it was available. and I know it will never rust.

CrazyModelGuy

Reaction score
I just buy a pot lid from a thrift store and remove the knob. A convenient hole for the launch rod.
Yeah I was looking at that option as well. But I also have a confession, the stainless hex standoff in the middle is reamed slightly larger than the launch rod it goes with., so the 3/16" rod is reamed to .196" So there isnt a ton of slop.

ghostfather

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
We use stainless steel pie pans as blast deflectors, mounted upside down with a hole drilled in the middle, just slide it down the rod. There's some slop, but they are large enough to protect anything underneath. Bought them at Walmart, but I'm sure you can find them at other places.
I imagine you could mount your stand-off ring on the pie pan, and eliminate the slop.

Stretch

TRF Supporter
Reaction score