NAR Drag Races

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JAL3

Reaction score
I have been reading the pink book for information on a series of events I am scheduled to participate in. It will be my first contest and I have no experience.

I understand (I think) about the C eggloft, the C rocket glider and the A helicopter. My question is on the drag race event.

By my understanding, the competitors can choose any rocket and motor combination as long as it is safe. Is that correct? One person could fly a MMX project in the same heat as somebody else with a G motor and points are awarded for first motion, lowest altitude and longest duration. Do I have this right?

You are paired up in brackets and you fly against someone else's rocket. They don't have to be the same model and don't have to have the same motor.

There are 3 points up for grabs in each race-
1st rocket to leave the pad
Lowest altitude
Last to touch down

The rockets are launched simultaneously and the one with the most points moves on. Most folks put it down to luck, but there are strategies- using quick igniters in BP motors, draggy lightweight models to get off the pad and keep the altitude low, big recovery devices or gliding recovery to maximize time aloft.

kj

I think Kevin pretty much nailed the Drag race event options.
Over the years there have been some very interesting strategies developed using very specialized and/or adapted model & materials. Just keep in mind Your going to need at least 2 of the 3 points available to move on to the next round.

To be sure your question about any model/motor combination as long as it's safe is completely corrrect.

Thanks for the info. This event is pretty much the after thought with me. I am going up there for the others but will try to put something together for this. I think I have a Sunward kit that might fit the bill.