My UK Introduction.

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Space Oddity

Reaction score
Hello,

I've just joined, not sure what I'll find.
What I expect and hope for is some good expert advice.

I am an engineer, living in Norfolk (England that is, not VA). I have started building rockets with my 10 year old grandson. Not sure who's having more fun at the moment.

I'm disappointed that I can't find a good UK source of information. That's why I'm here.

We've tried an Estes model rocket kit. That was ok, it worked, but not much of a challenge. Since then we've designed and built our own. We've been lucky so far, all have flown straight and true. My grandson is learning lots and I am using him as an excuse to fly rockets. For a 10 year old his grasp of mathematics and physics is growing along with his love and skill for football (that's soccer).

At the weekend we flew a 1 metre rocket of our own design with a D12-7 motor. Fantastic in the twilight of a Norfolk field.
The next one is a 2 metre rocket with 2 off D12-7's.

I am however looking forward to the middle of the year when I have promised my grandson that we will progress to mid power rockets. I am looking for advice as to how to get there.

I'll get back to you to be more specific on my questions. But in the meantime and by way of introduction, that's me and my grandson. I'm looking forward to good chat and advice.

Space Oddity.

Hi Space Oddity,

You can find lots of information here www.ukra.org.uk

For an engineer I imagine rocket building will always be a relatively easy challenge, especially kits, until you start spending small fortunes launching the really high power stuff. Something I will probably only ever dream of.